Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Evil Developer's Lair

by Baecun - Compo Entry

You are an unfinished videogame character who only has 2 movement commands. You must go out to the Evil Developer's Lair and retrieve your movement commands!

CONTROLS:

D - Move Right
SPACE - Jump & shoot

Unfortunately there are no sounds, I didn't have a lot of time left, and I really wanted to enter the Compo, not the Jam.

It's noteworthy that this was my first game ever, and all things considered I'm proud I even finished it.

I hope you enjoy it!

EDIT: I see that people are having troubles with the wall jump, so I'll explain it: it works on a collision base, that means that if you want to double jump you need to collide with the wall again. The reason I made it like that was because I felt like the regular double jump mechanic (where you get pushed away from the wall immediately) was a bit too common, so I wanted a different spin to it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#423Humor2.49
#586Fun3.00
#599Theme3.58
#716Mood2.60
#731Graphics2.60
#770Innovation2.62
#776Overall2.88

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:42am

the url needs to get fixed, couldnt load the game

Baecun says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:57am

Yeah, turns out I copy-pasted the http:// twice, it's fixed now. Thanks for letting me know.

Finestep says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:47am

looks like http// and nothing more, now

Baecun says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Yes, for some reason it automatically put the http:// for the web version, even though there isn't one.

Janacek says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Nice little game, had fun dying and retrying :D

makiki99 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:43pm

After a moment, this game gets pretty frustrating. The effortlessly made background and the lack of music adds something to the mood of the game, but it isn't really something I like to look at. Shooting feels not very intuitive, and how walljumps works is a mystery to me.

Oh, and just one tip: edit your entry and deselect that you want to be judged in Audio caterogry, since there is none.

Baecun says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:13pm

@makiki99 Thanks for your input, I'll take it into consideration :)

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:45am

Good for your first game.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:27am

Aww... you used the version of Unity3D that has broken key input on linux exports.

George says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:32am

Man that's hard! Once I understood the release to shoot it was actually really fun, I can see what you were wanting to achieve with the level design.

I like that you have a little story to your game as well, adds to it!

The biggest thing though - congratulations on your first game! That's hands down the best decision you've made - game developers are awesome ;) Can't wait to see you at future game jams!

Baecun says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:00am

@batmansb I'm still not the biggest expert in gamedev, specially when it comes to porting. Is there a way I can fix the issue? I still haven't upgraded to Unity 5.3, would that fix it?

Baecun says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:02am

@George Thanks! It's nice to see that someone gets it. I didn't want to put a tutorial because I felt like that was somewhat insulting to the player's intelligence, but maybe it was needed. Thanks again for your comments, it just made my day :)

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:03am

took some time to learn but it's a good game to die in LOL

Ampera says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:25am

Fun game, but it gets hard. Reminds me of VVVVVV

Somnium says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:47am

I liked the graphics (and animations), and the concept!

The game was fun (although it got rather hard in the later levels).

Very nice first entry!

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54am

You adhered to the theme too strongly. Removing the ability to move left was a questionable decision, especially since your jumps are somewhat tight. Also it's a little annoying that I don't have a shot charge meter and have to time my jumps to be at the same time as my shots. Also, a level forces me to jump without seeing where I will land, which is generally a poor design decision. Otherwise, great go at a platformer, really good job teaching the mechanics.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:58am

This is certainly a cool game! It took a little bit of tweaking the settings to get it to run on my computer, but I'm glad I finally got it to work. I think it would certainly be more interesting with a little bit of music, but the overall gameplay is actually pretty intriguing.

I have to say it really screws with your brain when your most basic platforming control - fixing an overshot jump - is no longer available to you.

SgtBursk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:03am

Never figured out how to double jump, exactly. I enjoyed the character art!

Baecun says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Thank you for your comments, everyone! I see that people are having troubles with the double jump, so I'll explain it: it works on a collision base, that means that if you want to double jump you need to collide with the wall again. The reason I made it like that was because I felt like the regular double jump mechanic (where you get pushed away from the wall immediately) was a bit too common, so I wanted a different spin to it. Anyway, it's really nice to get all this feedback, thank you :)

JangoBrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44pm

This is a very cool story idea for the theme. Furthermore, the game really is a lot of fun! It would have been even nicer if you had had the time to add some sounds, but oh well.
And that double jump thing is totally not based on a bug, eh? :D
"That's not a bug, that's a feature!"

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:47pm

The double jumping felt like more of a bug than a feature, there's only a few graphics, and their constant reuse makes them uninteresting quickly. The game itself really feels unfinished, and I don't just mean thematically. That said, this is a lot better than most people's, including my own, first game, so you should probably be really proud.

Rob_Haines says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Fiendish, but enjoyable. The use of the theme was cool, & the restrictiveness of the controls certainly makes you think about how to use them.

Good job on your first game!

MHaton says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Well that escalated quickly :P A very good first game, keep it up and give us another next time :)

You may want to describe the jump as a wall jump rather than a double jump to save confusion, as that's more what people would typically call that :)

batmanasb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:41pm

@Baecun, sorry but I don't use Unity3D so I have no idea. I just know that at one point in time they broke linux controls and didn't bother fixing them for several months. But that's all I know, but it's okay, I don't blame people for Unity3D's faults.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Some Bugs, and lvl 8 no idea where to go. but nice game

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:12pm

I got what you tried to do but doing three actions with 2 buttons didn't work well and the game looks random and you don't really have control over your character.

blohod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:50am

very nice, I made my fist game ever for this ludum dare to!
judged on stream at http://www.twitch.tv/meep706, watch the highlight to see me play

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:25am

really like the idea - i think the shooting mechanism could be improved by only allowing to shoot after the player has jump as it seems kind of random now

scorched says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Hard to synchronize jumps with the moving green spikes, but I enjoyed it! Felt like a god when I got the third key, but was disappointed to lose it next level (stuck in there too)...

Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Cute little game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/-PrUibNueHg

euske says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:21am

I had this increasing lag problem where the game gets less and less responsive, making it more frustrating to play. I reached level 5 or 6 but couldn't finish it, so no rating from me.

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:35pm

The forth or so level had a first jump that was impossible. :/

*reads rest of description* ... ohhh..maybe you should've mentioned that in the game or at least with the controls, because there was no way for me to know I'd be able to do that. :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]