Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Beanstalk

by Mithreindeir - Compo Entry

A two button game about a Beanstalk going on an adventure, killing all animals that eat vegetation in his way. Written in C++ and SDL2 right now only downloadable for linux. Don't let the adorable turtles and chickens fool you! They eat beans! To the people saying more enemies, I made a bunny is like a turtle combined with a chicken, however I never put it into the game, all I did was make the bunny animation.
*********************************************************************************If someone has a windows computer can they tell me if the windows version works? It works in wine but I'm not sure whether or not it will work on windows.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#359Humor2.63
#401Graphics3.24
#672Innovation2.80
#704Overall2.98
#713Mood2.61
#799Fun2.63
#835Theme3.17

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:27am

This is a great game, but It should have more types of enemys.

ProgramGamer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29am

Yo, the source is not working, you might want to fix that lol, it says that I don't have access to the repository.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:30am

I like the movement idea, but combined with the level design it's very difficult to get around without falling off the edge; even more so because there's no clues as to which direction I should be going in. Initially going down seemed the be the right idea, but then I suddenly ran out of ground!

The graphics are quite nice though, especially the adorable tortoises which I could barely bring myself to jump on.

Mithreindeir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31am

Sorry lol I forgot to make it a public repo

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36am

Not a bad game. I agree with having more enemies

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:40am

"./game: error while loading shared libraries: libSDL2-2.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory"

It won't launch :(

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:41am

waiting for a windows version

Mithreindeir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44am

5you I'm working on it right now I am trying to figure out mingW. :P batmanasb I am trying to fix that, it appears that occasionally it won't statically link

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:51am

If I could rate the gameplay video, I'd give it a 5 for the recorder in the background.

tazdij says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53am

overall it looks nice.

Tom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:54am

No windows or web option for me to play. Will check back later.

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:02am

Any chance for a Windows release?

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:04am

@MestreRothWP lol, I love the irony :P

Mithreindeir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20am

@MestreRothWP if I can compile it then yes. It may not be out for a day or two

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:22am

The door is literally the chest from legend of zelda link to the past. Not sure what other textures you stole, so I can't compliment them. Leaps of faith, in general, aren't solid game design. would be cool to have more walls and less air. powerups of some kind, idk

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:26am

The graphics are sweet, but the logo isn't very original. Look's a lot like Minecraft's logo. That's not important, however. What this game really needs is more enemies.

Mithreindeir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:32am

@ShadesVertex I wanted it too look like minecrafts font. I should added more enemies but I ran out of time

Kakureta says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:41am

Cool game, the graphics are rather nice too :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:23am

heads up for making a video! nice

Peekotus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:23am

Its very difficult to get around but the graphics are adorable.

guigrillo13 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Only linux? Really?

Mithreindeir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:18pm

@guigrillo13 I'm working on compiling it as soon as I get home

Mithreindeir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:15pm

I made a windows version, it works in wine idk if it will work on a real windows, but if someone could test it that would be nice

madcoil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Works on windows! Cool gfx, but odd gameplay. You can fall off the blocks and fall forever! I'm not sure if it's just a bug with running on windows but there's also no sound.

Mithreindeir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:14pm

@Madcoll The linux version kills you and restarts after you fall for a certain height, and their was never any sound, SDL_Mixer isn't working on my computer so I never incorporated it.

Gornova says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:38pm

it's working on windows, but there are graphics problem, let penguins vote it!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Omg.. what is going on? The starts, you fall, lots of glitchy blocks then you die and the game crashes.

Mithreindeir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:08pm

The game doesn't crash it exits because I never wrote the thing to re spawn you. The linux version restarts it for you.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:14am

I wasn't really sure what to do, but it worked on Windows! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/LlS8bcKfkfQ

HUMANICS says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:32pm

Nice little game. Kudos for not using Unity ;)

Mithreindeir says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:00am

Thanks HUMANICS, my first Ludum Dare and I'm almost wishing I used Unity. Barely playable game, I was not ready to make a SDL wrapper and Platformer Engine in 48 hours. Next time I'm gonna do better. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]