Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Puzzlerun

by velddev - Compo Entry

The game is a infinite “turn-based” runner in which you play by only going left or right, after that. the map will scroll up if you moved, or if your time limit has been reached.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#202Graphics3.68
#305Audio3.03
#444Mood3.00
#594Innovation2.97
#602Overall3.10
#617Theme3.56
#629Humor2.00
#667Fun2.89

Comments

Alloyed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:31am

+ Aesthetic is coherent and most of the gameplay bits are easy to read
- the death sound is REALLY LOUD
+ I like the idea of a path-recognizing game, and being in a position where I knew which moves I wanted to do ahead of time and then getting to execute them rapid-fire felt very satisfying: but
- The fact that the only way move downwards is to let the timer run out, and that it can sometimes be your only valid move make for a very bad combination: it encourages people to wait for the timer instead of having fun in the game.

Foofanoo42 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:58am

Is it waiting for me to enter moves while the countdown goes ? Could use some more explanation.

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:22am

You automatically move down if you move, or if the timer reaches 0.

madcoil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:41am

It's cool, the graphics are great! Music is cool, there's a little hitch in the loop though.

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:11pm

First time doing music! I'm glad you like it!

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:30pm

I like the mood and it definitely is a puzzle runner! Sometimes it was unclear how I would need to move to avoid some danger and I seemed to slide over them making it appear that I'd hit them but there was no penalty... Otherwise great stuff!

Shared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Very nice game, but the death sound is a bit loud and scared me the first time.

rujo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:38pm

very original take on the theme

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Hard to understand at first, but it's nice after that!

Fervir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Pretty cool, I like how intense it gets when the speed ramps up.
Good job

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Loved the consistent aesthetics. The pixel art and colours are well-formed, and the sound effects are perfect.

The players learns and picks up the game pretty quickly too, which is awesome.

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Wow! I'm astounded on all the positive comments, Thank you so much everyone! :) It really made my day

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:15pm

This one is also pretty fun. The fast puzzle solving is an interesting mechanic. I do feel it's more suited to be a 3 button game (left, right, and forward) because having to wait for moving forward kinda ruins the rhythm. It looks good and sounds nice too, but the SFX are too loud.

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:00pm

There was an idea to add a L + R for forward. maybe i should've gone for that.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:46pm

man, that was a tough one! Having to survey your surroundings, and make quick decisions on where to move provided quite the challenge, and fun!

I liked the graphics, and the implementation of the theme was nice. Great job, I enjoyed it :)

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Neat idea with lots of potential. Placement of some dark entities made it hard to make a decision. Gloomy graphics adds to the mood. Good Job.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:53pm

+ Nice Graphics and Music/Audio.
+ Good puzzle game idea.
- Kind of frustrating. Could use a how-to-play tutorial.
- You automatically move if you don't press a button.

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:08am

Graphics are nice :3 and music i like it, nice bro.

dvdfu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23am

I think the premise is a little unintuitive at first, but once I got the hang of it, it was fairly fun! A little explanation would make it a lot easier to pick up.

rzuf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:35pm

It was tricky to figure out wat was going on at first, but it's a pretty solid game.
I like them creepy transparent monkeys.

Ayaya33 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07pm

I liked the music and the graphics. I wish there was a way to move forward without waiting for the timer though. I also seem to get stuck with no path to go forward without running into "those" or falling down a hole.

pk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Some indicator that the lateral movement is always safe would be nice, like killing the mobs that occupy the space or padding gaps with platforms.

Would make for a rather decent mobile game.

vortex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02pm

It took me a while to figure out how to pass through enemies, and how you get over edges...
I also found a glitch, where you can get a sort of infinite score if you have a thing that pushes you up and you go around in circles.
Other than that it was a really nice idea, and very nice graphics

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:46am

The aesthetic appeal of this game is great, the pixel art has been really impressively done. The mechanics of this game are also simple but effective, and it is a great concept behind it. As well as that, the procedural generation of premade parts put together ensures consistently well generated maps rather than impossible random layouts. One thing this game suffers from, however is a bit of lack of clarity in the mechanics. I found it difficult to internalise that going down into a gap or an enemy would kill me, but that going sideways into them was fine! As well as that, the levels generated did get a bit repetitive due to the limited number of premade tiles, but that should be easily remedied with more development time. Really like the idea behind this game, good job!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Cool idea here. I like your sprite work, really feels like a cavernous area. Maybe I didn't understand well, but seemed like several times there was no way to not die! Maybe just me there :> . Good job here!

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:46am

Greate design, music and game play, great job. 5 stars to innovation. I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Quite challenging! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/DppxuiW8XzY

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Web link gave me a 30 sec ad but game didn't load after it.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:05am

i really like the idea for the game and it was well execute - graphics nicelt done - good game

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Maybe a timer which is inversely proportional to the distance could harden the game a bit.

Maybe also some color for the special tile.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Very bad level generation. It's luck if not dying at second screen. Most of situations impossible to pass.

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:35am

Big problem.. I just walked off the side and sat there, infinite easy win because walking on nothing is allowed for some reason. :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]