Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tech Rider

by MrJoshuaMcLean - Jam Entry

Hop in one of four unique racers and see how quickly you can get through three varied tracks. Can you be the ultimate Tech Rider?

I went with the two-button controls theme: left and right being the buttons.

Currently only available on Windows. Ports for Web, Mac OSX, and Android? forthcoming. See KNOWN-BUGS.txt in the release for a list of known bugs.

Thank you for playing!

Postmortem: https://mrjoshuamclean.wordpress.com/2015/12/16/ludum-dare-34-postmortem/

Gameplay trailer: https://youtu.be/x5WnbBL1YUQ

Update 12/16: I've fixed the nefarious "Crusher Bug" that made the game camera sometimes freeze on start, and released as v0.1.1.

Update 12/17: Web build is up, v0.1.1.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#299Audio(Jam)3.41
#463Theme(Jam)3.73
#503Fun(Jam)3.17
#592Overall(Jam)3.24
#594Mood(Jam)3.12
#832Graphics(Jam)2.76

Comments

LordKawaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:53am

Fun little racer, I would love to see this with multiplayer

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:24am

Sorry can't check it on my mac :(

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:10am

nice use of the two button theme, I am really bad at this though

Acerio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25am

Pretty fun racing game. I wished the font matched the art style, but it's still a good game.

okeedokeben says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Great game! There are so many great little details here. I love the mechanic of the walls to brake, along with the scraping sound. :) The camera moving out when the speed picks up makes it feel so much faster. It's super hard, but the generous checkpoints help a ton. Great art and music too!

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Cool game, gives me memories of playing F-Zero.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Fun twist on the traditional racer controls. The unwieldiness somehow makes it fun. However, the control scheme doesn't favor quick reflexes, and with the continuous acceleration of the vehicle, eventually you'll fall into a pit, regardless of the reflexes.

utoxin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:10am

Definitely a fun little racer, as others have said. Iron out the bugs, and tighten up the controls a bit, and you've got a good game. My biggest suggestion would be maybe add some hint as to which way the track is going to go? You can see so little of it that it's really easy to fall off.

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Interesting little game, multiplayer would make this pretty fun.

skripteriant says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:50pm

really fun! The Tech Riders all had interesting designs and it was nice to have an unlockable for completing it. I agree with the others that if you fix a few bugs, and maybe add some kind of way to race with others this would be even better.

Didi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:35am

Totally FZero! nice work!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Really hard but fun game plus the soundtrack is amazing (Also, the first track totally reminds me of F-Zero).

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:24am

Nice little game, It was really hard but I got the hang of it in the end, good entry! As others have said, definitely reminiscent of F-Zero!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:00am

The controls are a little clunky but make you feel like a pro. :P I like the graphics and I especially like the music.

piper82 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:09pm

i like the fact you can go backwards. good entry.

WeirdMind says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Awesome music and great game. Very funny little game withs imple control and hard tracks. Nice mix. Its an great entry.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Addictive audio, I like the falling/destroying animation.

Wevel says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:16am

Cool game, and a good use of two button controls, however it feels like the map just repeats which makes it get quite same-ey

ObsessiveNerd says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:52am

Nice game! It was a lot of fun even though I was pretty terrible at it.

Anachron says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:24am

Fun! Reminds me of Super Laser Racer... would have liked the camera zoomed out a bit more so it's a bit easier

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:25am

Nice audio and control. Also the levels are quite difficult. And there is one question: how can I possibly fall off cliff in space? hahaha :D

lawendt says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:40am

Quite simple, loved the music, but the levels are lacking more orientation, there was a part in sea drive that I couldn't evade the "speed power up" and it lead me right into my death. The only thing now for you to work is in the level design and the multiplayer, 'cause I bet that this will be awesome in multiplayer! Keep up with the good work!

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Pretty challenging

YinYin says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:09pm

I loved the menu music and finally playing something fzero like here, but it all ended in frustration D:

Here are the problems:

No rail parts in a track and drop-offs are usually one of the toughest features to introduce in such a game, you outright started with that.

Not being able to skip/hop over those no rail corner drops was very frustrating. Either doing that automatically or adding a hold left+right short hop would have helped the game a lot.

The second track suddenly introduced full turns after I thought this would only go straight (and wondered why you made the vehicle turn rather than move sideways).

I thought the green arrows on the ground would redirect me - having an interactive effect much like boost pads. As a simple decoration to notify me of a corner they were all placed too late (I need to know about the corner before it's coming, not when I'm already falling off behind it - you did get it right on the third track).

MrMordem says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Cool concept, it's nice to have a top down f zero like, it needs a bit of difficulty balance i think, its kinda hard to see what's coming up front, and the track design can be confusing even with the arrows, the game has some strong points however, like the scaling effect when you fall off, the graphics are nice, and the music is cool, good job nonetheless :)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Cool game!

agilejoshua says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Very nice - a bit difficult to stay on the track since there is no way to know where the track will go up ahead. Camera further away or mini map would probably solve it.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:36pm

Nice little game, fun and simple! Great work here, enjoyed playing this! :D

Krafty says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:37am

Interesting game, but there were a few things that I had trouble with. The ships were a bit hard to control, and it was kind of easy to fall off the edge. You should work on this some more, and it'll be really good! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]