Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Green Blocks

by Flip120 - Jam Entry

HELP THE GREEN BLOCKS TO REACH ALL THE PLATFORMS IN ORDER TO SCAPE FROM THEIR CAPTIVITY.

MOVE THE BLOCKS WITH ARROW KEYS AND LAUNCH IT PRESSING SPACE.

STACK THEM TO MAKE TOWERS AND REACH TOP PLATFORMS. AT LEAST ONE BLOCK MUST REACH THE NEXT PLATFORM TO ENABLE THE NEXT.

TRY TO DISTRIBUTE THE WEIGHT IN THE PLATFORMS.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#444Innovation(Jam)3.24
#632Audio(Jam)2.66
#716Overall(Jam)3.11
#778Graphics(Jam)2.91
#783Fun(Jam)2.82
#998Theme(Jam)2.76

Comments

Polona says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:13am

I could not run the web version of this game. It came up with the download of the web version.

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:13am

Overall really great, the concept is beautiful, worth expanding upon.

Move127 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:13am

That was fun. Great game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Fun, but very hard!
Sound and music are appropriate and the little blocks have a nice personality with the little faces!
Background could do with more substance but the game is solidly made! :)

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:36pm

This reminds me of that old legendary stacking game. Well done haha!

guru-guru says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:43pm

I am proud of my 2 platforms achieved! Very hard

Agram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Really funny

sleepYxy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:42am

Nice concept, achieved three platforms and it was hard!
Maybe it was bug but when I achieved a new platform, the new one first rotated and then didn't become still and vibrated which made it a lot harder to stack the blocks.

I wonder what type of person one has to be to keep boxes captive :P

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Very nice game. Great fun

TRAB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:25am

I enjoyed the concept! In practice, it was a bit tedious, but definitely worth taking and developing more upon. Solid physics, fun music! Nice work!

Gyfis says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Interesting game, couldn't get past platform 2 in the time limit though! Well done!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Great game!! I really liked the Idea and how you make an awesome physics based gameplay
You should consider making a mobile version somehow!
(The are not green at all)

Great Job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]