Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

GuettoCraft

by DanielParra - Jam Entry

​GuettoCraft is a RTS game where you control the Rock guild led by SkullEater. The bust of Ozzy has been stolen. It is your job to gather the troops and fight the Nerds that stole it!

By:
Ricardo de la Rosa Vivas (Game designer)
Daniel Parra (Programmer)
Jorge González (3D Artist)
David Leon (Programmer)
Mireia Mullor (2D Artist)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#202Humor(Jam)3.32
#382Graphics(Jam)3.69
#824Fun(Jam)2.75
#880Overall(Jam)2.88
#1053Theme(Jam)2.45

Comments

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:33pm

This one had quite a few issues, such as the map scrolling being really fast and only controllable by the arrow keys as opposed to WASD, and I don't get how it uses either theme, but that didn't stop it from being fun. I had a good time with this game, and it would be interesting to see you extend this further.

Boonearth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:40pm

im out of words 0_0 AMAZING

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44pm

very liked this game, cool idea!

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46pm

I don't know why but I can't do anything^^"
The game looks all fun and great. But, I can't go further =/

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:03pm

I don't know why but I can't do anything^^"
+1

MacOs X El Capitan

angela says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Hey, this looks awesome! I really want to play it. But I get through the cut scene in the beginning, and then I just get a blank screen and hud, and nothing works.
I'm running it on Windows 10. I'll check back in a few days.

Nichii says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Really good art style, and interesting music. I like the metal theme and this game could be very cool. I've encountered bugs which can be game breaking such as how the unit selection stops working after you talk to the first viking and how the level wouldn't load at the 2nd level. Ive exited to the menu and tried to access the level from there but it still doesnt load. After that somehow even the first level stops loading. Super amazed on how you could pull off an RTS in such a short time though. Congrats :D.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:45am

lots of glitches - too bad looked like fun - nice effort

randomhuman says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Looks great, but I couldn't figure out how to do anything. I assume this is just some bug I'm encountering, so I won't rate.

Almax27 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:22pm

This was a pretty big scope for a game jam, nice work guys.

gelisam says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 4:14am

How do I control units? I can't do anything except "Cancel" after the cutscene.

dregamr says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 2:56pm

I can't play it! :_(
The screen goes black...
But it looks so good

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]