Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Alien Number Attack

by miwuc - Compo Entry

Fend off Alien Numbers that attacking the city, using the magical powers of binary!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#211Innovation3.61
#301Fun3.39
#304Humor2.76
#311Theme3.93
#423Audio2.75
#463Overall3.25
#559Mood2.86
#574Graphics2.93
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Great concept! I like how new numbers are slowly introduced and the inclusion of arithmetic operations. Well done!

Ethan Allwood says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Love the idea of using binary for the two button ideas. cool game

LMT says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:33pm

That was a pretty cool game. It seemed to play reasonably well, and was self consistent. The music was pretty nice, and the graphics were cool too. Overall, a solid entry.

kaynank says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:38am

Very original idea, nice font choice, decent music. Seems like you lose your progress on the current entry too fast - if you stop to think for a second you have to start typing again.

Yakka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:22pm

I love the idea to have 0 and 1 as the two buttons! The game is good and kind of educational. I like it!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:15pm

This is a nice take on the theme, picking binary. It is a lot of fun to play, and a little bit educational too! I would have loved to have this game when I had some little binary test in school ;)

disdanes says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:02am

This was an interesting concept, it was easy to understand and the music and graphics were good.

Husky says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:49am

lol! I love this idea! it's making lot of sense, I knew how to play immediately, really nice one :D

Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:27pm

That was fun and educational! Never thought I'd say that. Well implemented and with a generous learning curve. The music is excellent, and the graphics are good, even though there's not a lot of them. One of the more original uses of the theme. Definitely a game I'd recommend to anyone wishing to learn/brush up on binary.

Not something you'll play for ages, but a good, well-polished time waster.

rafaoliveira says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Loved the binary idea ^^

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Nice game! I scored 105. Really liked it =)

Khallane says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Cool idea. Nice work on the learning curve.

nassi says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:46pm

I see through your clever ruse; you're trying to make me learn aren't you?! I guess I should take the chance though, seeings as I scored 60 points on my first try... Cool use of the two button controls and the difficulty ramped up perfectly too.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Nice game, the difficulty curve is just right, and that's hard to do. The music is a bit grating, though.

Ancient_Pixel says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Great Idea, at first i thought it would be to easy but when it hid the binary code it got challenging, the enemy graphics should be more than a number though. Maybe a body that surrounds the number. Otherwise really good!

Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:45pm

A great way to teach non-programmers some binar :)

Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Neat little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/6QI1ZQ7v1fA

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]