Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Silent SKY

by Provocator - Compo Entry

Hi all!
It's my first 'game' for LD. I did it in 15 hours.

Control:
Space to jump. Available double jump.

Play in WEB !
*required Unity WEB Player

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#735Innovation2.69
#796Mood2.38
#857Graphics2.15
#874Fun2.42
#896Overall2.62
#960Theme1.88

Comments

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:27am

rather than uploading your web game on drive, just use a web game host dude, so people don't need to download it
try gamejolt or itch.io

good luck! :D

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:29am

Game looks and plays smoothly. The gameplay is pretty fast and works great. Sometimes a bit buggy when you start floating around. It's also pretty unclear at what point you float, and when not.

The thing is, the game meets neither theme's, as it doesn't grow and has only one control.

Overall well done!

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:31am

Flipping gravity is always fun. :-P I like the idea.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:35am

More polish would be nice, especially for controls. And it's sad that there is no sound.
Apart of that, idea and visual style are great!

Also, where is the second button? I see "One button controls" here. :D

MinusKelvin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:37am

Unfortunately, the Linux build closes immediately so I can't play it. :(

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:50am

Kind of hard to get used to at first, but it's fun when you get momentum going. Physics seem to be a bit weird. Also, for the sake of ease, a quick way to exit the game would be fantastic next time round (played it in 1920 x 1080 and had to ctrl alt del to get out).

Provocator says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:56am

WEB version update! its playable on itch.io

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:26am

All in all, it's a good game for one made in 15 hours, but definitely not very engaging. I enjoyed it for a full minute before I got bored. It fits neither of the themes.

Still...

I like how everything is grey scale. The fog adds a mysterious feeling to the entire environment. This game just wouldn't be the same in 2D!

BUNN1E5 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:29am

To be honest I don't know what I'm doing. Although the game looks good and I really like the moving up of the platforms. Funnily enough, it actually reminds me of my first Ludum Dare. Continue participating in Ludum Dares!

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:59am

Hi, i liked this game even though at first it was frustrating to get used to but once i got it i enjoyed it

i agree no theme was met here i was clicking space and hoping the second button would have been used

overall nice game for first ludum dare and look forward to next entry :)

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Linux did not work but runs on Win it's hard to play

mockthebear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:15pm

i dont know how to say. but i was "OMG KMJAHUA OMG DONT OMG... HUUUU ok theres a invisible wall" when the camera rotates XD

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]