Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Punch Beat

by AboLD - Jam Entry

You are a robotic hero who tries to punch as much as possible. The goal is to get highest combo ever!. The new thing that we experience in this game is that the game has a interactive music pattern.

All assets and code were created during the 72 hour jam.

Design: Abouzar Pourranjbar
Code: Hamidreza Karamian
Art: Morteza Soozban
SFX & Music: Makan Ghayouri

Have Fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#119Graphics(Jam)4.22
#378Audio(Jam)3.28
#418Theme(Jam)3.78
#594Mood(Jam)3.12
#682Overall(Jam)3.14
#787Fun(Jam)2.81
#848Innovation(Jam)2.61

Comments

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:31am

Love art.

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:38am

Incredible graphics and audio!

The animations are dope and the music and sound are awesome. I love the slowly increasing-complexity backbeat that's happening in the background, although I don't totally understand what it's for.

It would've been awesome to expand on this mechanic somehow, maybe make enemies with more varied attacks or something.

Incredible presentation though!

RhysD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:40am

Cool idea, reminded me of One Finger Death Punch. Sweet art and music. The game got very repetitive after a few rounds, and sometimes the enemies destroyed themselves just as they entered the screen.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:46am

Art and animations are great, background music is good too.

I don't understand the blinking lights and the "dun" sounds that show up after a while, and honestly they kinda became annoying after a while.

Doing a combo was more hurting than helping cause it locks your character up for too long and if not timed well enough, you take a lot of hits (and i find it hard to time it properly).

Other than that i think it's a great game and was fun to beat up robots!

AboLD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:55am

Thanks guys, the comments are great and very useful.

AboLD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:57am

@SeriousCreeper thanks alot.
about the combo system, we need to change the whole system to polish it.

thelasthour says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:01am

This game looks amazing and it's a really great concept that plays out very well. There was a weird "Dun Dun" that kept playing that sounded off. Also the "A" and "D" keys are reverse but arrow keys work fine. Awesome game! Great job!

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:02am

Absolutely gorgeous visual style, and the music was great. I enjoyed the simple gameplay mechanic, which makes good use of the two button theme. I also thought it was a really good idea to put a combo in with timing so that button mashing isn't as effective as carefully timing punches. I had a couple of issues where the detection of punching seemed a bit off, enemies on the other side of the screen would die, or enemies on top of me wouldn't get hit, but this didn't detract too much from the experience. I think a couple of things that would really bring the game to life would be to add the ability to knock robots into each other with the combo punch, and to really nail the explosiveness of the visual and audio effects on successfully landing punches. I'm talking explosions, fire hands, make it really satisfying to land the punches. Overall a really impressive effort. I would probably play this on my phone with a bit of cleaning up.

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:34am

Great looking game! Maybe make it harder to play and use combo's with left and right cursor together?

vidarn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05am

Nice game, it looks good and sounds good. Loved the style. :)

AboLD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:07am

@middenkwaaii thanks a lot dude. your idea about combo is great, we will try it out

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:51pm

The art and sound effects are really good...but the gameplay was not as good ....

lastninja2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:00am

Enjoyed this one ;)

Strike says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Very beautiful game. I see a lot of potential there but i didn't get at all the "beat" feeling suggested by the title. It doesn't seem like the robots pattern follow any kind of rythm given by the music. Or maybe I missed something there. Very good job anyway :)

tobia88 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:43am

Just so so , but graphics very good!

Warboys says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:59am

Reminds me of One Finger Death Punch (which is always a good thing)! I feel it got quite buggy, as I was punching guys from miles away at times, but then guys were running through me at others. Not sure if it was behaviour bugginess or display errors.

Beautiful art and animation, the music was interesting and got kinda weird (but I guess that's what happens when you have players interacting with it)

shadow64 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:18am

I thought the animation was cool and the idea is a lot of fun. Played for a while, but I wasn't sure how the music was sync'ing up or what role it was playing. I think it just makes a more elaborate song as you go, but mine seemed kind of out of sync. Not sure why. In any case, I had fun playing it and I hope you had fun making it! Thanks for sharing and congrats on finishing!!!

tuben999 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Really nice graphics and audio, the animation when the robots hit you could give a bit more impact at first you dont really notice it.

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:28am

Very nice graphics and music, I would have appreciated some more audible sound when I punch, I hit enemies or I'm hit.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:22am

Great visuals and interesting gameplay. I found it difficult to work out the combo moves though.

loxo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:28am

I like the graphics and the audio of the game very much. The game seems a bit too hard to control though. Sometimes the player does something even when I don't press any button anymore. And sometimes enemies just walk through my punches.

Wevel says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Cool game, though it seems like enemies sometimes disappear

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Awesome graphics! The music was good until one repetitive beat sound started.
Great job guys!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:16am

nice entry!

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Nice graphics and music. Really liked it. I just hoped there was more gameplay.

Keep up the good work.

randomhuman says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:06pm

I love the art, but there is something off about the music I think. I found it hard to distinguish between enemies that needed two hits and those that needed only one hit, so I was always throwing in extra punches (which I assume has combo consequences, though I couldn't really tell what was going on with the combos anyway). I felt like there wasn't enough opportunity to build up cool back and forth combos because the enemies mostly came in one at a time.

Overall, a fun, good-looking game with clear potential to be even better.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]