Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

INDAGO -- The Search

by ShadedVertex - Compo Entry

This is a game about claustrophobia and searching. Find the right block as quickly as you can!

-------------
FEATURES:
-------------

-Completely random levels!

-High score system!

-3 difficulty levels! (warning: the higher your difficulty level, the more laggy the game will be)

-Guaranteed claustrophobia :P

-Tons of fun!

-Quirky sound effects!

It's not as easy at it seems. As the blocks slowly yet steadily grow in size, you'll begin to panic as you desperately search for the right block. Eventually the blocks will obscure your vision and you'll lose.

Are you sure you can find the block? Are you up to the task? If you're sure...well, then, give it a go!

-------------
GAMEPLAY:
-------------

This game is centered around searching for the odd block out. The only enemies which stand in your way are the evil ever-growing blocks. Weave through the thousands of blocks to find the odd block out. The block that you have to find will always have a different colour from the rest of the blocks. Sometimes it may seem that the block you're searching for doesn't exist and all the blocks are of the same colour, but that's what happens when desperation kicks in. There's always an odd block out, and your task is to find it. Fly straight through the odd block to win the game!

If the blocks grow too big, you'll lose. The block you're looking for is not always cleverly concealed, though. Sometimes it can be in plain sight. But don't count on your luck, though; it almost always lets you down.

DEFAULT CONTROLS:

MOVE FORWARD: W
MOVE BACKWARD: S
MOVE LEFT: A
MOVE RIGHT: D
LOOK LEFT: LEFT ARROW
LOOK RIGHT: RIGHT ARROW
LOOK UP: UP
LOOK DOWN: DOWN

Good luck!

------------
CREATION:
------------

This game was made in Java using LWJGL. The GUI was made using JavaFX 8. I somehow managed to combine the two and voila! I worked for almost 24 hours on this in total, because it's the first game of my own creation that I've ever released to the public.

The GUI was created today, in 2 hours, which is why it looks like the default JavaFX appearance. Sorry about that, but I kinda had no time to style the elements using CSS.

------------
WARNING:
------------

This game may lag on computers without 4GB of RAM or above. I can say with full certainty, however, that it will not crash or cause any problems with your computer.

------------
CAVEATS:
------------

1) Missing Mac build -- I'm putting together a web applet version
2) Some lag when on the highest difficulty level

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#306Innovation3.43
#365Mood3.13
#432Graphics3.19
#561Humor2.20
#617Audio2.25
#800Overall2.82
#875Theme3.00
#890Fun2.38

Comments

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:57am

Interesting concept but I got bored quickly.

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:47am

I like the idea and it is interesting how the longer you take to find the block the harder it gets. The sound effects need work and the controls were too sensitive.

mf1214 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:48am

Cool interpretation of the theme but I can never find it.

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:06am

I like the concept! It definitely induced some uneasiness when I hit the wall on the edge of the map and then when it filled in. Making it quicker to reload might help streamline the frustration and keep people playing longer.

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:04am

Hm...that doesn't happen on my computer. I'll have to look into it.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:50am

Ohh man!! Is a mac build possible ? The screenshots look sweet... but can't play it! :|

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:53am

Nice idea! Couldn't find the odd cube, though, and the game crashed when I tried to restart it (graphics driver crash).

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:58am

Great work, but as said, the player got bored quickly :/

Pete_H says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Think I may have had some rendering problem, all the blocks were solid black :(

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Pretty nice game, but I got bored quickly. I have also noticed some issues with camera, it started moving backwards when I press W at a time, but cannot produce it again. Nice try for an LD game in compo entry.

J08nY says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Great concept, I really like the look. However you seem to have some problems with the camera control(Gimbal lock). How did you manage the sketch style shader? I cant see it in the sources and I would like to read up on it.

Gornova says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:19pm

light is a lie !

Strange game, more a demo than an actual game? And I never find the light on easy difficulty

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:57am

There is no light in the game...? You're supposed to find the odd block out. Also, gimbal lock should be fixed. The camera should be fine now.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:41am

Very trippy visuals. Reminds me a bit of Sky Grid. Gameplay was quite simplistic, but that seems to be what you were going for. Also, high score of 5 seconds, yeeeeeeeeeah!

Also, for my game, there should definitely be audio. If you're not hearing any, just remember to score N/A for audio.

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:44am

@SuperPokeunicorn thanks :D Also, I really didn't hear any audio for your game. I'm pretty sure I rated your game.

@J08nY I used stencil testing to draw the outlines. It's not in the shaders, it's in the Main class (not the MainGUI class, the MAIN class). You can learn how to draw outlines using stencil testing at http://learnopengl.com/#!Advanced-OpenGL/Stencil-testing

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Interesting how you put such simple graphics into perspective, the "wanna get out sensation" achieved! :)) (PS: worked fine on my comp)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:27am

@ShadedVertex Must be a bug I guess

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:47am

Greate concept. I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:21pm

@vicious_br Sorry about that, I forgot. Must've slipped my mind. I loved your game, I had lots of fun trying to win, and I eventually succeeded :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]