Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Protoplanet

by Benjamin-L - Jam Entry

Controls:
Rather than two buttons, I used one button. Left click to eject mass in the direction that you are clicking.

You are a chunk of rock in a protoplanetary disk. Your goal is to absorb enough mass to become a planet without being absorbed by larger chunks. Since there is no air, the only way to control your movement is by ejecting mass in the opposite direction. Don't crash with too much relative velocity or parts of you will break off on impact.

The game is like agar.io with gravity, momentum, and conservation of energy.

The music is Rêverie by Debussy, played by Simone Renzi (http://imslp.org/wiki/Special:ReverseLookup/253086).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#483Mood(Jam)3.25
#486Graphics(Jam)3.52
#692Overall(Jam)3.13
#712Theme(Jam)3.45
#730Innovation(Jam)2.81
#839Humor(Jam)1.75
#896Fun(Jam)2.64
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

Bamboy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:28am

Application was unable to start correctly error on windows build.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:33am

Sorry can't check it on my mac :(

diest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:34am

after while there was nothing near me.

Benjamin-L says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:09am

I did a windows build using the MinGW rust compiler instead of MSVC. Hopefully this will work better if you don't have the visual studio runtime.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:41am

best I've played so far, hands down. Great atmosphere.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:43am

Doesn't run for me.

Windows 7

parias001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:43am

Nice graphics!

flwns says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:44am

ran at 1 fps, was unable to play

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:46am

Interesting take on an old idea. I thought it could use some balance, I was just really bad at it hahahah. The huge exaggerated shadows were hard to deal with too.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Linux d/l ran fine with libsdl2 installed. Frame at times was very low. around 3 fps. But it looked and sounded very nice.

terry90 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:40pm

I like the minimal approach, and the soothing music fit the chaotic ballet rather well. There are, however, some issues with balance. For instance, I watch other asteroids gain mass at a far faster rate than I can absorbing the same amount of material. The green accent didn't immediately register as imminent danger. Red might be a better color to show accentuate larger asteroids. Over time the play space becomes empty with no indication of where to go. The shadows of other objects only work to define space in close proximity, so that mechanic becomes less effective over time. Even with these issues this is an enjoyable and relaxing game.

Aceeri says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:30am

Very nice, but it ends once you become larger than the other asteroids.

Benjamin-L says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:14am

I (hopefully) fixed the low FPS issues by adding culling to the shadow and object rendering.

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:24am

Very nice relaxing game. I like the blurriness. I think it fits nicely with the theme of the game, being a meteor(a piece of unintelligent rock). The only thing I can think of to improve it is maybe to show the player the direction he needs to travel in to get back to all the other meteors/planets as I got lost in outer space for a while :P Thank you. I had fun

GogglesKitty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:56am

I like the concept, just have some minor annoyances. I feel like a super clear art style (i.e. not blurry) would make it feel better. There's also no indication of motion which makes moving kind of disorienting. Otherwise, really cool!

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:07pm

to low fps, not possible to play, sad because I liked agar.io :(

srakowski says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:15am

I really liked the mood of this game. The audio was nice and well placed with the game. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]