Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Farm

by brandloose - Compo Entry

Buy a farm with two buttons. That's it.

Controls:
USE LEFT AND RIGHT ARROWS AND PRESS BOTH TO SELECT.

Ran very low on time due to birthday stuff. Stupid birthday. So the game itself is very short and not debugged. But, maybe you will appreciate the graphics.
This is my first ever game jam. I had learned some lessons and had lots of fun!

UPDATED:
I got rid of the bugs! I think.. Please comment if there's any errors still. Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#206Humor3.00
#379Graphics3.29
#534Theme3.67
#641Audio2.17
#776Overall2.88
#785Innovation2.58
#791Mood2.41
#857Fun2.48
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:07am

Virus detected :( Couldn't download.

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:09am

Same here, it's being caught by my anti-virus...

brandloose says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:13am

Oops. I guess I uploaded it as a exe, so I put it in a zip, maybe that'll fix it?

mf1214 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:31am

Nice art but way too short.

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:38am

No virus, but buggy lol. It ended up drawing text all over my screen making it unplayable from then on.
However, from what I could play, good use of themes and I quite like the art style.

Borodar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10am

I see something that means you pooped up ;) It is buggy a bit, but anyway, idea is great, game has cool art, and respects the theme. A bit more polishing and all will be fine!

stevepctech says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:11am

This game did not work on my end :/ Too much text writing over itself to read anything. I liked the pixel art though.

Reisen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:54am

The game pooped up a lot. XD

Didn't go deep enough, but I like the art style.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:56am

Text overlap and issues using both buttons in combination kind of made this really hard for me to play. Did dig the art, but the text made it real hard to play it further. Any plans to put up a post Jam fix version of this soon?

Masuno says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:37am

Pretty fun little game! Could do with a bit of background music.

Everyone: To avoid text overlap (except at one specific point) then wait for the text to finish showing up before you press either button.

My high score is 530. Try to beat it. :D

qwetro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:49am

The art is OK, but the gameplay is kinda boring to me.

srakowski says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:31am

I bought a farm! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]