Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Wall Jump

by Peekotus - Compo Entry

This is a game where you climb up from the sewers. Get as far as you can while barrels and bats rain down upon you.

Controls:
Left Key
Right Key

Watch out, there is death from above and this game is kinda hard.
This is my first ludum dare <3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#218Theme4.03
#219Graphics3.63
#427Audio2.74
#481Overall3.23
#484Fun3.15
#489Humor2.35
#569Mood2.84
#644Innovation2.87

Comments

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:48am

Very difficult! It would be better if the score did not go down when you got hit.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:30pm

God it's hard ! But i like the art, and overall you made a nice little game.

Robin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Hard, but it is fun to keep trying! The music is a bit repetitive though. Also, at first I didn't know you could keep climbing the same wall and I kept jumping between the left and right wall which was basically impossible :P

Peekotus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:56pm

I will make an option to mute music sometime this evening, and thanks for all the advice :D

Peekotus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:59pm

The music does get pretty repetitive though D:

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:11pm

I can't play windows games.

Rob_Haines says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Quick-play arcade fun! I enjoyed how responsive it is, even if I'm not very good at it.

Certainly has that 'one-more-go' pull to keep trying to best your score. I could see this working well as a mobile game, when you need to pass a few minutes in a queue or something like that.

anv says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:40pm

At first it was really hard to get into correct rhythm to climb up, but when you manage, progress really feels great (until you get hit by a barrel and fall helplessly smashing all buttons in panic... all the way down into the water). Add pixel art and catchy but endlessly looping theme in the mix, and you get a great piece of old school, Nintendo hard entertainment.

Thepattybeast says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Thinking your on the wall, jumping, then dying: The Game

Thanks to Robin for pointing out you can jump on the same wall otherwise I would never have made it passed 1000 points. Before that any progress I made seemed mostly random.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:21am

Yep, I suck at this game, but I kept playing somehow.
Also, those messages outside of the tower are pretty amusing.
"Donald Trump." Yep. That's a good word to put there.

srakowski says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:35am

Very difficult! I wasn't able to get anywhere. I did appreciate the graphics/audio, style, and humor of the side messages.

Indie L says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:45am

Very hard,but i liked!

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:46am

WAAAAAAAAAAAAAY too hard like, impossibly hard. I tried so many times and I could barely get past the first couple of barrels - and mostly by luck lol. And yeah the music is a bit... repetitive. Everything else looks great though.

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:48am

Difficult but fun, good graphics. Excellent first ludum dare!

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:15am

What a hard game!
After some tries I got it!

Good art, Congratulations!

shrapx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:03am

1988 was my last score, its difficult but addictive, i wanted to get a better score hehe. i thought the bg music was a bit repetitive. i like the design of the gameplay, would do more if it was less severe, i like the pixel art, nice one

uthamon says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:05am

Fun arcade game, at first it seemed impossible, but after I got handle over controls it became really enjoyable. And sprites are great.

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:19am

This game is very hard as you say. I don't feel that you have too much choice in the game, seems more like luck whether you die or not. The graphics are nice though.

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:31pm

I like the art style! This game very hard, but it's fun.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:36pm

The idea was cool, but I think the way you implemented made it difficult. I really liked, but I could play more if I had more control of the game. Congrats!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 8:49am

Far too difficult, but I like the concept and graphics.

kardfogu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:23pm

Well, nice entry with good retro style graphics and stuff.
Keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]