Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

zx

by acotis - Compo Entry

You, the player, move left and right in your world using the keys z and x. To the right there is a field in which life-threatening quadrilaterals are hurled at you, and to the left there are fields which allow you to see information about the world.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#424Fun3.23
#455Theme3.77
#601Humor2.08
#602Overall3.10
#629Innovation2.90
#764Mood2.50
#894Graphics1.81

Comments

themadknights says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Simple but I like it a lot, and ... you did achievements :D

parias001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Really addicting!!!

f7f5 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Fun little game. Got to level 10. I would prefer levels a little less based on simple memorization.

Movement is smooth and I liked the way you move left to access the options and info.

I didn't hear any audio, though?

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:55pm

awesome! very engaging and challenging, well done :D

Janacek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Simple and efficient !

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:10am

I gotta say, those parallelograms sure are deadly! Though this game might be lacking in sound or graphic depth, it makes up for that times a thousand in level design. You did a great job of walking the player through the mechanics and introducing them to new play styles and ideas. 5/5 fun for levels. Well done!

denycetm says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Achievements is pretty awesome. I like the idea of super simple waves.

kepons says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:40am

Well, that was pretty fun and frustrating. Achievements were a nice touch.

RoynLimb says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:48pm

I like how even though I knew what to expect having lost the level and retry it, I still messed up. Very good game

Adreqi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:48pm

This game is evil :O
fun to play and great level design, quite hard though x)

gj!

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:39pm

I can tell that you put a good amount of time into the level design. I really liked that every level was unique in its own way. Also, I really liked how the levels progressed, becoming harder and harder every level. The way that mechanics such as the green shrinking powerup were introduced was great as well. Starting levels after the player goes off the screen was a nice idea too.
My only critique would be with the graphics. Maybe instead of a black background there could have been some background graphics.
Good job overall!

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Simple but nice to have the multiple levels to play through.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:36am

Levels were unique and interesting, but it seemed to be mostly memorization. Got to level 10 but gave up.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Really awesome game! Was fun to play.. and reminded me of my submission. ;)

Only thing is... it didn't give me the last achievement... Couldn't figure out how to get it.. so I did peek in the jar file... *whistle*

It.. looks like you're supposed to get it when you shrink... but... when you're not in the "game"... Odd.. Anyways.. it was a whole lot of fun! :D

hyperscope says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:50am

Might seem silly but I liked how I could simply continue the level by moving to the left. Each level was different without simply being repetitive. Nice programmer art :P

nassi says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:55am

Nice smooth transition between the menus and the actual gameplay. Aesthetic was quite simple, but it worked.

I also got to level 10 before giving up. The precision and speed required there felt demoralizing.

Tortoise says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:31am

I liked this game much more than I thought I would. Fun little thing.

I really liked the key rebind menu. Good job keeping with the theme!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]