Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Food Defense

by mf1214 - Compo Entry

Controls:

Left Click - Interact with buttons, place towers, etc.

Description:

Tower defense game. A possum is trying to reach the end of the trail to eat the unhealthy food bowl cauing it to grow bigger. Place healthy food bowls along the trail to stop that from happening. Read the "instructions" page on the main menu for more information.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#480Humor2.36
#649Audio2.12
#762Graphics2.52
#768Mood2.48
#866Fun2.45
#892Overall2.64
#917Theme2.71

Comments

BROWNY_09 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:29am

Mine doesn't appear to be working.

mf1214 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:34am

Any error messages?

Magicolo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:54am

Can't get it to work. Windows 10 64bit.

mf1214 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:02am

Hmmm. Will try to figure out why. Did you guys run the .bat file?

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:03am

It is an interesting idea for a tower defense game. It would have been better had there been more to the implementation.

KBF123 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:05am

pool tower defense game, but it gets a bit repetitive after a while when you can two shot the possum with tomato feeders and continuously replenish them.

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:05am

FYI Worked for me, windows 7 64-bit.

Are people trying to run the .jar file or the .bat file?

Ko_ry says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:07am

Mine worked fine, not sure why also Windows 10 64 bit.

This is very cool! The only problem is the possum didn't seem to grow if I killed it? Also the possum died before the shots got to him, which left the bullets shooting at nothing D:

Overall very cool though, I enjoyed it.

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:13am

Nice game !

tazdij says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:18am

it was fun, but, I didn't see any resemblance to either themes. and crashed after playing for about 3 minutes.

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:32am

This can be a very fun game after a bit more polish (which is really the point for the compo). I ran it on Linux, though I couldn't get sound to work (my console was filled with Java exceptions for the sounds).

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:34am

It works quite well, IMO, good job.
I just think the UI should have less and better info, like removing the instructions from every turret description and making clearer when you have or not funds for a purchase.
Good job on making it work in such little time.

MinusKelvin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Feels like a game of babysitting, reason being that the possums don't seem to get stronger unless they reach the unhealthy food, so the towers stop them every time.

Hackbug says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:55am

Your game is cool, but to much easy, we plant 2 turret in corner and have only to click on refill for don't loose.

But else, your game is nice, and i suppsoe with more difficulty, it can be very awesome ;)

dregamr says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Simple, repetitive, but a nice tower defense game. :)

Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:27am

Neat little game, very unique take on the tower defense!

astrophics says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:27am

Doesn't work for me because Windows 10. Looks cool though!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:48am

interesting idea!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]