Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Untangled

by Avant-Marde - Jam Entry

------------

LOADING TO PLAY ABOVE ISN'T INSTANTANEOUS — please be patient for a few seconds!

Uses Unity WebGL, and should work fine in at least Chrome, Safari and Firefox, tho lack of sound has been reported for one of these on one system. IE and Edge seem to be hopeless or at least without sound.

Consider downloading the standalone executabele for your system if you can't get it to work in any of your browsers.

------------

DESCRIPTION:

Rapunzel has a brush with fate as she accidentally falls from her tower, cutting her hair off in the process - whip your hair back and forth to help her return to her tower in time for coffee with her hairy godmother!

In it, we used both of the themes; "Growing" for the main game, and "Two button controls" for the in-game minigame.


CONTROLS:

You use the A and D buttons, or the left and right arrow buttons to control Rapunzel, and mouse button and movement to fling hair in desired direction.


CREDITS:

This game was made by Ava Skoog (programming and sound effects), Marte Kvamme Strømmen (art and music) and Morten Formo (programming).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#63Theme(Jam)4.27
#129Humor(Jam)3.58
#138Overall(Jam)3.78
#155Innovation(Jam)3.68
#176Graphics(Jam)4.08
#201Audio(Jam)3.58
#224Fun(Jam)3.54
#262Mood(Jam)3.54
#2073Coolness26%

Comments

Gipzo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:38am

Good game. Beautiful art and nice music. :)

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Really cool game - super cute art, awesome gameplay. Music could be better. Implementation falls a bit short sometimes, some thing seem a bit jittery. But really fun nonetheless.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Look at my hair, my hair is amazing.

Swing physics are a bit clunky but everything else is great. Had fun playing this. Also, I want to see the Hairy Godmother appear in more games!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:22pm

I loved it.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:32pm

That was... not what I was expecting. The mini-game is well made, and the godmother as well. The other parts didn't flow so well.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Great game. Nice work there !

dusho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:55pm

amazing game..
lovely art, nice music, brilliant idea

Fernando says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Loved your game!! Very beautiful art and music. I would love to play some future version if you decide to keep developing it!! Congrats!

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Nice hair. It's kind of a cool game too. Kudos for adding music.

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Wow, the minigame gets really hard :O

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Very complete game with great art and mechanics. I loved the idea of brushing hair as a game, haha.

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Pretty good! Though the hair physics and the swinging is very weird, but hey it works! Good job! :)

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Okay, so here is the deal. It's an....interesting game :D It was fun in a kind of weird way. There are two things I have to report as a fellow programmer. I believe you forgot a texture on the first "lift-like" platform that you activate with a lever. It's completely white. And second, I managed to bug the character out when I was in the air swinging and the weird punny-guy dropped in. After that I was just stuck on the thingy. Anyway, good job ;)

MisterAddy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Wonderful art and sound, and a really neat concept. Well done!

Avant-Marde says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Wow! Thank you all so far!

Some positive stuff, some negative. Seems fair! We had a lot of fun but we know we didn't have time to fix everything and some stuff ended up remaining a bit weird or buggy or subpar, but the main mechanics were interesting to explore.

I actually didn't forget the texture, gogo, but I simply didn't have the time to add one. :p I haven't stumbled across that bug! I'll try to reproduce it and see if I can fix it later. Thanks for the feedback!

recursor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:10pm

I really love the hairbrush mini-game. That is a great little addition. The graphics and sound are all very good. I did find something odd though. I pulled the second lever in the game and a white square appeared. I'm thinking it shouldn't have been a white square? Anyway I enjoyed it.

Avant-Marde says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Maybe I'll have to update the untextured elevator to the purple colour of the ground or something as a hotfix to make it seem less like a bug to people. :p

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Really nice game with an interesting growing mechanic! We loved the non-lineality of the game map and the gameplay mechanic. Art style is superb, but we found a bit hard to understand up to where the hair reached at first (hanging points seem always too far for your hair length), but you get to understand it quickly. Great job, congratulations!

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Loved all the hair puns.

Boberro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:26pm

This was crazy. Lovely animation.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Loved it! Very cute art and the puns were great. That last brushing minigame was pretty hairy though.

Skaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Awesome.

that rockband hair brushing part was hard in the end! Glad I made it in time for the coffee though :p Really nice game, congrats!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:24am

Nice mood and great mechs!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:29am

Controls were a bit stiff but it had some clever level design and awesome puns

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:29am

Artwork was great, I loved the idea of the hair growing when you brush out the knots...
And all those puns in a game with RaPUNzel in it was great..!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:29pm

Beatiful game, great sounds and graphics! Nice work here!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]