Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

A Small Giant

by colinator27 - Jam Entry

A Small Giant

This game is about a giant who is quite small compared to his "friends". You are asked if you are willing to do this- are you? No, seriously. That's a question in the game.

This game follows the themes of Ludum Dare #34.

Oh, and this is my first Ludum Dare, so please don't rate too harshly. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#410Humor(Jam)2.82
#690Audio(Jam)2.28
#814Innovation(Jam)2.67
#856Mood(Jam)2.67
#863Theme(Jam)3.17
#999Fun(Jam)2.39
#1023Graphics(Jam)1.50
#1073Overall(Jam)2.47
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

Diventurer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:37pm

I like how you made the game seem adventurous even though graphics aren't great. You did a good job with that I think. The audio adds a lot, as well as how you go from scene to scene.

It's a nice first LD entry. :)

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:49pm

I couldn't get out of the cave >_<; But the premise is fun! I really liked the beginning :)

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Not the best, a tad confusing, and the graphics could use a touch up...

KZdev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:06pm

I actually finished it, I was going to give up at the cave when I couldn't figure out how to combine the items but then I saw the screen shot. I like how you put in an alternate ending at the end. If you put a little more effort into the art and came up with some puzzles that can be worked out in-game you could make a decent adventure game out of this. The mechanics are there, they just need a little polishing. Good work for your first entry!

colinator27 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:22am

To everyone complaining about the art, I rushed it and know that it looks horrible. (walking animation) The story was rushed as well. This is my first Ludum Dare, and I may or may not continue this game.

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:00am

I played on the web, don't know if it's me, the site, or what, but I could click play, but couldn't press space to read on, except for once where it told me something like thanks for playing :(

colinator27 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:20pm

I don't think there even was a thanks for playing in the game, and I think it's a computer problem, because it worked fine for me.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:16pm

None of the keys worked for me (Firefox 42, Windows 8.1). Neither spacebar to skip the text nor the arrow keys to run.
I also can't see anything useful in the console about why they don't work.

colinator27 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Hmmm... Just get the .exe then, must be a weird bug with Clickteam Fusion 2.5's compatibility. It's nothing I can fix. Also, try not clicking outside of the game. :)

xodene says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:13am

Pretty innovative despite the graphics. I enjoyed it.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Freezes on start, sorry.

colinator27 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Many technical issues... it should work fine on most computers. Even worked on a cheap Chrome OS laptop.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]