Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

push your button then punch

by 525 - Compo Entry

my first Ludum Dare ,happy with it

the game is like a combat game, two players is better.
the control:
player1:
wsad all the same,
g = grab,
h = turn the light(yes.. there is a light)

player2:
up/down/left/right,
; = grab,
' = turn the light(u can change the buttons~)

just go to the button of your color as it says,then u can grow.
And then ....

i have tryed the game on windows and web. but i dont have any linux or mac so Im not sure if it is runable on them.

wish you have fun~

(forgive me .. I dont know how to deal with the audio so.. forgive me)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#330Humor2.70
#610Innovation2.94
#757Fun2.73
#809Mood2.33
#863Graphics2.12
#866Overall2.70
#959Theme1.98

Comments

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:41am

Fun!

flakoflak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:43am

not exactly two button or growing theme, but good work!

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46am

interesting game, didnt really enjoy it too much.

mr. a says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:52am

The Mac link seems to be broken. Looks like an error page in Chinese?

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57am

Funny. Doesn't fit theme.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:44am

Interesting. I'm not sure if I am seeing the them incorporated in this one

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:49am

good little time passer :)

jasoncoan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:55am

I was horribly confused on what I was supposed to do. There should have been AI for people playing alone.

LuckiiGoggy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:07am

Interesting game, was confused for a second when I lost by accidentally picking up the enemies' block

Keelan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:10am

Funny concept :)

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:53am

I don't know how it fits the theme, but it's playable.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:10am

I don't see the theme going there, but it's fun :)

525 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:30am

Sorry about the theme fitting..
It took me about 10 minutes to have this idea.
At first I decide to made the player grows step by step, and I designed 4 steps to grow, the two hand version you've seen could be the last step.
But after that I realize its no time to do those steps.So I canceled two steps in the middle(and the AI when single play)..
This is the explain, its definately my fault.Sorry for it.
After all wish your have fun.

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:30am

hi the windows version's link is missing or sth : "Lol, you visit the page does not exist."

kostak says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:55am

Good idea! But terrble control

525 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:44am

I have add some alternate link for windows and the source. your can try it when the first one goes 404.

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:12am

Funny, but I had no one to play with.

Kenneth Ng says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:12am

Interesting mechanics. The transition between the giant poking-mode and the maze race could be a little smoother. Otherwise, fun versus game. Also, a more fair maze generation could make it more balanced. Had a lot of fun kicking my brother's ass.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:57pm

I did not get, how the fist fight should work, but the basic idea of the game looks promising. It is quite sad, that you did not get any further than this.

Strike says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Sadly I'm alone playing this game. But I can see very high potential to play it with a friend. For sure a fun multiplayer game.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:48am

I assumed the 'two buttons' of the theme were 'G' and 'H' (or '.' and ';' for p2), but then there seemed to be no need for these buttons in the game? I just used up, down, left, right, and the mouse.

Starspell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:19am

An interesting idea but needs some polish. I liked the idea of becoming so large that you are able to squash your opponent. However it wasn't clear what was going on some of the time. In addition the mazes generated sometimes completely blocked off the goals from one or more players which unfortunately should never happen. I think you need to build more robustness into this so that it is fair for both players each round.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:25am

This is a really fun concept-- its a little race in a maze between two players and then one gets to try to punish the other if he gets to his finish line first.

The part with the hands reminds me of captain falcon's super smash in SSB brawl.

My criticisms: while the mazes and finish spots are generated in a competent and balanced way it seemed like the only way to finish within time was if the finish spot happened to be very close to the players. There should be more time for people to figure out the maze when the goals are far away so that it becomes a game about whose eyes can trace the path back to their sprite the quickest. Also, I suggest making the BG black if the walls are white because its a bit difficult without a stark contrast between wall and open space.

I like this concept alot though and I really hope you develop it further. Some occasional baddies could be fun but I know its hard to create competent AI that doesnt interfere with your main mechanic within 72 hours.

Great idea though, top notch.

Luxorix says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:50am

Innovation

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Great game for playing with two people! we played your game for the fun of it) well done :) Keep the projects coming!

gloim says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:36am

interesting concept :)

Dohxis says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:24pm

The game is not bad I guess, sadly I don't have a second player with me. I guess it would be difficult to navigate in the changing maze with the lights off but just grabbing one little box that sometimes spawns right before your eyes seems a little too easy and at times unfair. Idea is not bad, definitely but another thing I dislike is that it's obviously not 2 button control and I can't view this from the "growing" perspective no matter how much I try. The only things I saw that resembles growing is the word "grows" and the player sprite getting bigger all of the sudden. Overall, a pretty good game, but I'd recommend to follow the theme more, since ludum dare is all about making a game in the given theme with limited time.

RiOrius says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Cute idea, but didn't seem to play very well.

dollarone says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:55am

BRUTAL! Good fun, I wonder how it works as proper two player :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]