Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Quest Of The Two Buttons

by AlmightyTuna - Compo Entry

An adventure game, wherein you must guide a party of adventurers through a treacherous land filled with all sorts of diabolical fiends on a quest to retrieve the magical MacGuffin

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#140Audio3.49
#206Innovation3.62
#211Theme4.04
#216Humor2.97
#218Overall3.59
#230Fun3.51
#247Graphics3.57
#267Mood3.30

Comments

trexmix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:34am

Amazing graphics.

The transitions after battle and into buildings were very slow.

I liked how the game was simple but polished- it knew what it wanted to do, and stuck with it.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:46am

Well done game here and I like the concept. Not really sure how you win, but combat was interesting. I thought the big guys were a bit too slow however.

martincohen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:57am

Loved it completely! The controls are well thought. I love the homemade audio, made it much more fun to play. Good job, very good job my friend.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:09am

That was a really creative way to implement the 2 button controls! I'm surprised you manage to make them work as well as you did, nicely done!

Gave me a slight nostalgia feeling for old adventure games, which is always good haha

Liked the graphics as well, over all, great work! :)

zenchaplays says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:53am

Finished one battle on OS X and was unable to enter any other area. Cool vibe and I like the simple party-based combat. I would've rather seen more polished combat than a "world map."

Baknik says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:03am

Simple gameplay, but effective. Unfortunately the two button control scheme hurt more that it helped int his case.

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Lovely graphical style and innovative use of the controls. Who would have thought a party of four could be controlled by two buttons? This is one of my favorites so far.

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:28pm

very nice game, good gameplay

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:24am

Great game! I'd play this on my phone post-compo if I could.

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:35am

Liked how you worked with the theme for the game. Also the description of the game is just lovely <3

SgtBursk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:49am

I enjoyed the music and liked the way the party lent itself to all the weapons with just a couple buttons. Cool font choice, too.

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:24am

The graphics could be improved by limiting your color palette. I like the game.

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:26am

Good use of the two-button control limit. The big bad seems like it needs some indication that it's taking damage.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:10am

Great tension trying to balance left and right attacks.

recursor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Interesting use of the two button mechanic. I wish the sorcerer/wizard had an attack too.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Interesting use of the theme. The gameplay is fun, but it feels kinda clunky when you are in the most difficult situations.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:35am

I was surprised how tense holding two buttons could be! Maybe it's the battle music. The graphics were ok, and the music was nice. Only thing I'd say is it'd be nice to have a sound effect when buying something -- unless I was watching my money I wasn't sure if I bought something or not. Otherwise, pretty fun! Unfortunately I died right at the end! Good work on this.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Nice game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/sMG1ENTyKkU

FiSilva says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Very fun, I loved the take on the theme, the controls were great

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:56am

wow, really solid entry, one of the best. Loved the combat, art and audio. Good job!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:17am

Probably the best game I've played so far. Amazing job :)

Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Good RPG, though it gets a bit samey. The graphics are good (especially the enemies' death animations), there is some good music, and the combat is simple but tense and fulfilling. I'm impressed that this was done in 48 hours.

A possible bug: if I bought the key and then went back into a town to stock up on health, the gate no longer showed up.

Still haven't beaten the boss (the big mage with the fireball). I might come back and try again later.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:48am

such a great idea - i think you could take this further.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Nice compo! Mechanisms are interesting and it is a good use of the two buttons game! Good job ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]