Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tug-o-War

by hyperscope - Jam Entry

Tug-o-War:
-2 Players 1 Controller
Player 1: Left Bumper/Left Analog
Player 2: Right Bumper/Right Analog



-Each player can influence the direction of the "swarm" by tapping their bumper.
-The faster you tap your bumper the faster you move in the direction you are pointing.
-Try to convert the swarm from red to blue or vice versa.
-First to collect 10 of their color wins!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#428Innovation(Jam)3.26
#726Theme(Jam)3.43
#778Fun(Jam)2.83
#829Overall(Jam)2.97

Comments

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:35am

Themes is great, you hit both themes. The concept is awesome but the mechanics are a little anticlimactic to use. It would be great if there was a little more player feedback as to whether or not you're winning.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:13am

Need a WebGL export edition!

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:47am

Nice choices with the visuals and music, always makes for nice touches! Nice entry!

KBF123 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:30am

The music was relaxing

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Simple but interesting game. I'd like to play on keyboard, not all people have pads, but it isn't such problem

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:37am

Not sure why but the game doesn't seem to load. The unity loading progress bar shows up but it doesn't move.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:37am

I was annoyed at first that I had to uses a gamepad, but I can see why you did it that way. I'm sure it would be fun with another player, although we might be fighting over the controller!

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:16am

Good Idea! Couldnt try it with a friend though

SayRafon says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:21pm

It's a good game if you have a friend and a pad ;)

tantumgames says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:46pm

A nice casual game, with nice music and addictive gameplay

hyperscope says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:10am

MESSAGE FROM THE DEVELOPERS
@Bloodyaugust
I looked into webgl but could not figure out how to host it at the moment.
@DrFallos
While the game is tailored/designed specifically to be played on a controller I regret not adding keyboard controls for those w/o access to gamepad.
@zenmumbler
I didn't feel a build would have been necessary but based on your case I probably should. Maybe try a different browser?
@adsilcott
Glad you liked it! Part of the appeal of the gamepad for us was that not only were you both influencing the "swarm" on screen but both players using the same controller to do so. We were trying to capture a unique local multiplayer game in a unique way. I appreciate the game being played together in a more intimate sense as it were

hyperscope says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:11am

MESSAGE FROM THE DEVELOPERS
The audio was not intended to be included in the final Ludum Dare build as it was simply placeholder and in our minds actually works against the frantic nature of the game mechanics.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:18am

Unfortunately for me the game got stuck at the Unity loading screen :(

alyphen says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:57am

An interesting concept.
The choice of music is a little confusing considering it's a fast paced competitive game.
The theme interpretation was pretty cool. The idea of two people on one gamepad is quite unique.
To expand on this, online multiplayer would be a huge enhancement.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:02am

Need to detect a gamepad that's turned on after the game loads. I had to reload the whole page because I was fetching my gamepad while doing a first load. Once that was solved, it was interesting. Neat simple graphics. Nice job.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:48am

Ooh, neat idea. I love the two-hands-one-controller style of this. Worked well.
(Also, your Windows d/l on itch.io is missing the data folder, so it will not load correctly until you include it with the exe.)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:38am

I'm afraid I couldn't get this game to work. When I downloaded the exe, it didn't have a Data folder, and thus wouldn't run. Neither Google Chrome nor Firefox would support the game in-browser.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]