Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The More You Arm

by Bamboy - Jam Entry

This game is about a lazy guy who lost his TV remote. Help him consume sports and find his TV's remote control.

(Send help)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#35Innovation(Jam)4.06
#86Fun(Jam)3.81
#123Overall(Jam)3.81
#137Theme(Jam)4.13
#555Graphics(Jam)3.38
#2043Coolness28%

Comments

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:52am

I love the idea ! It's a really cool concept, the arm stretching, nice innovation and great idea for a jam !

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:54am

I literally have no idea why I'm eating a variety of balls...but I think I'm having fun?

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:21am

mac does not have a file in the zip

Otixa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:27am

11/10 IGN

Bamboy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:04am

Fixed Mac and Linux downloads but I do not have either of these systems to test the builds on!

jamgrrl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:11am

This game provides surrealist social commentary on the state of America, where we cannot arise to turn on the TV, but must consume and steal and reach into our neighbor's yard to take what is not ours, such that, instead of spending time with other people, we must eat them.

Does anyone even watch TV anymore? No. Instead, we play games where we still consume, only we do so interactively. The determination of the game's protagonist, nay, OUR determination to achieve such a level of laziness leaves us feeling empty, lacking in any sense of purpose or meaning. Those who seek to escape this pattern, instead of consuming, begin to produce, and in so doing, spend a weekend creating more fictions for others to consume. Fictions which we hope will be some sort of reflection of our own place in the universe.

This game accomplishes this goal. Please play through to the ending. The final scene is the capstone of this short, yet epic reflection of our inner demons. You will feel unsettled. Or at least... entertained.

flakoflak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:20am

haha, loved it. this is too bizarre. great idea.

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:32pm

The graphics and vibe were very amusing but the game got repetitive relatively quickly.

Audio could make it exponentially better. Recording yourself saying "omnomnom" when you munch a ball and playing a random sound effect from http://www.bfxr.net/ when you grab it doesn't take very long.

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:52am

I really enjoyed the stretching arm concept, and it worked perfectly for the theme. Great game!

Neonlare says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:38am

Very funny, loved the surreal humour and being able to eat the folks, wish it had some sound but the entire package is really strong with this one. Kudos man!

Shivur says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:01am

Original idea!

Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:35am

Despite there being not much to guide you or anything, it's a really good concept and for some reason fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]