Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

M.A.R.E.M - Mind Annihilation Retro Explosion Massacre

by Baransu - Jam Entry

Can you beat your evil cyborg clone and his minions?

Our first Ludum Dare game ever. We hope that you will like the idea and realization and please give us some feedback. :D

Controls: left and right button of mouse

Disclaimer: If anything is working wrong (like no audio or infinite loading) please - reload the page and try again. Game works on experimental homemade engine and may not work as we want to work, so please be forgiving :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#290Audio(Jam)3.42
#389Humor(Jam)2.87
#451Mood(Jam)3.29
#580Graphics(Jam)3.32
#620Overall(Jam)3.21
#731Theme(Jam)3.42
#735Fun(Jam)2.89
#946Innovation(Jam)2.37
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

Tragon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:03pm

First time saw nothing and only could hear me die. After that visuals worked.
In fight I could only shoot to the left.
When the character turned to the right the bullets would still fly to the left.

Despite that, very good graphics and sound. If it would work properly it would be a pretty damn good game I imagine

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Pretty good fun.. mechanic was a bit similar than previous game I just tried, but nevertheless.. good action, nice effects and graphics. :)

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00pm

There's no reason for your bullets to be yellow pixels. It's a videogame, make them as huge and powerful as you reasonably can! Yellow pixels are just kind of disappointing.

You can't go wrong with evil exploding cyborg... dinosaur people..? Good idea conceptually, but the gameplay is just a matter of holding one mouse button then the other. I'd be alright with that if my bullets were huge and it seemed like the very earth were trembling when I shot, but my weapons seemed relatively impotent.

Great background and effects, though. I do like the screen drunkenly wobbling around and zooming in and out. I don't know why it does, but I', glad it does.

paulfysh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:07am

Nice entry, especially for a first! Managed to make it quite frantic with direction changing at times during combat.

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:10am

The game is working well and it's very easy to beat. There are no other actions except shooting to the left or right. It is sad for me. The game is good but it needs to have more actions for player or enemies.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:10am

my eyes! The wobbling and rapid color changes are perhaps just a tad much :) but it works for some I guess.

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Great very well done and works well for the theme! Addictive music too.

zzapp says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Well done, the game played well and I thought the graphics and animation where great. Could of been more challenging though.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Too hard for me!XD

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Intense! Nicely Done!

Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Good graphics and mood, excellent retro-style music. I like how you implemented the two buttons theme, and there's some good humour. On the downside, having the game jump from side-scroller to set-piece fights feels a bit disjointed.

The text has some grammar and spelling errors. Might need beta-reading.

It's pretty hard, but not unfairly so. I might come back to see if I can beat it later.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:30am

Great game! Awesome graphics and audio too! Congrats! c:

TaoPhoenix says ...
Feb 14, 2016 @ 11:52am

Yeah, just left and right shooting and not a lot of strategy so I kept dying about half way through Gatling Gun and didn't see what else to do.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]