Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Feed Your Queen

by stargardengames - Jam Entry

Feed Your Queen! Hunt and gather for your voluptuous lover so that she can grow to her true potential and TAKE OVER THE WORLD.

HOW TO PLAY
- Left click to shoot
- Right click to headbutt
- R to return to Queen
- F to toggle full screen
- WASD to move
- Blue orbs grow your queen
- Red orbs feed her health


We are a team of three and this is our first Ludum Dare and our first completed game that we've ever made! Let us know what you think. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#231Overall(Jam)3.63
#239Fun(Jam)3.52
#313Audio(Jam)3.38
#320Mood(Jam)3.46
#336Innovation(Jam)3.38
#403Theme(Jam)3.79
#469Humor(Jam)2.72
#480Graphics(Jam)3.53

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:14am

I'm digging this! Pretty easy, but relaxing and fun. The only change I'd recommend is displaying the queen's health somewhere on the screen when you get too far away to see it

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:24pm

It's a really good game ! Easy but relaxing. The idea is really nice and fitting perfect with the themes. Graphics are nice, audio too. It's a pleasure to see the queen growing !

Wicked7000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:36pm

I actually had a lot of fun playing the game! (even though it was a little on the short side) Good job!

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Nice "twin stick" shooter (would have loved to play it on a gamepad, actually). I loved the color palette. The different enemies were well varied and had interesting AI routines. It would be cool to have gained powerups from growing the queen to give a stronger sense of progress. Good work!

Catblocker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Really well done game.

One thing that annoyed me thought was that you could get easly lost from the queen and more or less never find her again. The camera position also seemed odd at times. It was focosing in the opposite direction of what i was going. It feels liks it should be the opposite. It should focus in the direction im going. So its easier to spot enemies as the come closer.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:36pm

I wonder what inspired you guys :p

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:58pm

We should have done a better job at emphasizing this, but you can actually press the R button to recall to Queen so you won't lose her!

Zetym says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Solid gameplay but a bit easy as you can just spam shots to kill enemies quickly. Liked the music, it was relaxing and comfy but didn't take focus from the game. The cymbal hit did however take away from that feeling and overall felt a bit misplaced.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Love the graphics !

Henez says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Great visuals and music. Sound effects for shooting/damage would have been nice but I can understand opting to keep the calm mood instead. Gameplay is pretty standard but watching the queen grow made for a nice implementation of a classic formula. Great entry, well done.

gmatsura says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:07am

Fun game. It ran well and I liked the style.

jstan says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:54am

I really like the gameplay. Keep good work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]