Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

S - Court

by DrFallos - Jam Entry

(PLAY Fullscreen for full experience please)
-Use LEFT or RIGHT arrows to judge character.
-You must stop arrow on proper zone on "Guilty meter" below.
*If character is guilty, you must stop arrow on the red zone.
*If character is not guilty, you must sop arrow on the green zone.

Gain 100% law to win. You will loose if cash or law will be zero.


Here is the plot of the story:
Life is full of mess, all turned upside down???
Are you tired ? Have you lost faith in the justice ?
Are they annoying you ?
Arrange all the points above and unravel ball of the unfair hair.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#81Graphics(Jam)4.36
#84Humor(Jam)3.77
#156Mood(Jam)3.73
#196Overall(Jam)3.68
#230Innovation(Jam)3.53
#272Audio(Jam)3.46
#315Fun(Jam)3.41
#435Theme(Jam)3.76

Comments

MakerArt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23am

Nice one #)

RIPsys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:48am

Yeah! This one is very cool.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:22pm

I feel power in my hands)) Funny game with specific gameplay also pixel art is amazing !!

Shon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Perfect^)

danthedev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Enjoyed this a lot

RevelBase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Looking super neat

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:56am

I like it. Good graphics and cool concept. Enjoyed it!

Firellon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:02am

Excellent graphics and effects. Idea is pretty cool, too. 5/5 Benders never guilty! Keep moving forward!

gv1351 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:20am

Good game art

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:53am

Really cool game !

marod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:54am

Nice character references and Pixel art graphics! Great game

treslapin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:12pm

The graphics are great. :D Love the idea.

Nizar89 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Cool game :)

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Great job!

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Great theme. Cool graphics. Nice work.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Interesting game and really cool characters!

Cheers,
Zazine (Tyrants-not-found-team)

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Well done. I like the timing twist on this "bin sorting" game. Once you get the hang of it, you realize that patience is all you need to win. This makes me wonder if the cash meter should drop faster. Nice art, too!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:15pm

excellent art and funny references. Interesting game idea, sometimes a bit hard and random but still fun!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Very nice-looking game. Loved the whole slight surreal effect with the judge and although the audio got a slight bit repetitive towards the end it gave it a nice kinda trippy complement.

I do think though that you didn't necessarily need to use all those liscenced characters, but as far as references go they were alright (seeing the words "Bender" and "Not Guilty" in the same sentence is enough to chuckle at :P).

Gameplay was fine. It was pretty tense to get the needle to balance and took a while before I got a hold of it. Only problem I'd see with it was the fact that the margins inbetween the "Guilty" and "Not Guilty"-sections were a bit hard to make out at some iterations, which made it pretty hard to predict where the needle would end up.

Also, just to nitpick a little "judge" has a "g" in it :).

Otherwise, great game! Definitely enjoyed it.

rabbeni says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:03pm

loved the art

Muel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Funny =)
I liked the characters I was judging xD

Is that Berserker who I'm thinking he is?
*metal intensifies*

recursor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:05pm

The atmosphere is great on this. The graphics and ambient SFX really makes you feel like you are in there with a bunch of people.

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Love the art in this one and all the references are pretty cool :D

timeshapers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:16pm

perfect 5/5

banana4life says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Cool idea, cool game

Crosstales says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:29pm

This is a funny game and the graphics are great. It was fun to play, well done!

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Really fun and very fresh!

shrapx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:42pm

I loved the pixel art of familiar characters, and other things, the shadows. I found myself looking down at the dial more than taking in all the great graphics though. I lasted pretty well but i didnt see a score to share. well done

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Wow that's some huge feedback! I would like to thank all of you, I simply LOVE this community!

shrapx
Yes, we didn't have time for high score, unfortunately, but you can share that amount of money you had in the end =)

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:34pm

You made me feel like god. Thank you. Great pixel art btw.

bessdlan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:36pm

really good game and nice concept ;)
good job

Louspirit says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Hi, I really had fun playing this game. It was either discovering the judged characters or to be the more precise possible! Corruption is a fun point too.

Ludic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:17pm

awesome game

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:33pm

this game was pretty neat, the art was really good!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:01am

awesome art

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:48am

I really loved the pixel art in this, and the general idea / concept was nice!

I think maybe slowing the game down a bit might be a good idea, but the rest was pretty spot on.

nice atmosphere, funny references, and solid gameplay, good entry :)

VladRusu says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:47am

Wow! Really one of the best games I played in this Jam. I like how I have to balance money and law. Pretty hardcore game. You did an amazing job!

RhysD says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:48am

LOVE it, the art and mechanic are awesome. I enjoyed sentencing well known pop culture characters as well. A few times it felt a bit unfair when the needle on the meter jumped quickly to the wrong section just as I hit the button, but I guess I am just to slow with my reactions :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:35pm

nice game, very funny, love the references, well done!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Quite bizarre, but very enjoyable!

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Chocolate is not guilty!

Raius says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Amazing work, love the concept and the mood of the whole thing combined with the funny pop culture references. Seems like there's a lot more depth that could be added to make it even better.

dx0ne says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Because of sounds it felt like biblical Judgement day in Hell.
Nice execution BUT BATMAN IS NEVER GUILTY!

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Very solid entry! Nice Art and sound effects (although they get a bit repetitive). I found it a bit distracting when a character was on stage multiple times.

Another thing that was not immediately clear to me was why are there two different buttons? I guess they have no effect on the judging, only on the corruption choices?
Maybe the controls be be optimized :-).

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Pretty nice, good graphics and controls. nicely done

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:26pm

This is a really fun game :)

Dejvo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:15pm

neat. great execution, altough, the two buttons were kindof pointless

bloomingbuds says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:11am

Good entry!! Very intuitive gameplay, funny and innovative.

beetracks says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Very good entry. Nice graphics, nice ambient sounds. The gameplay is interesting. Good job!

jsmars says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Great mood and crazy idea :D

nelskj says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:08am

Nice game and graphics! A bit more of sound/music would be great!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:15am

Nice idea.. it is very hard and some times the needles get impossible to get. It took a while to understand what the game was about.. a tutorial would be nice

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Really nice game! I laughed a lot seeing Batman being guilty at the tribunal and offering me money to be free.
The graphic are amazing, beautiful pixel art!
It only needed more variation of phrases for bribes.

Great job man!

Pusty says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:14pm

I don't really get it lol. (shame on me for that)
Looks nice and audio was good as well.

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:14pm

That was cool. At first I didn't get it, then it became clear. Although I'm too slow for this game :) Very well done. :)

Wevel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Really dun game, gets a bit repetitive after a while though

ruerob says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Haha! Thank you for this great game!

batmanasb says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Honestly one of the weirdest game mechanics ever...

3Dog says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:07pm

good job. :)

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:12am

Good grafics! Some accused had a very small guilt-window combined with a very agile guilt-o-meter-needle, so my reflexes just weren't good enough to do right by them. Until the inevitable shaming my time as a judge was fun, mainly because of the diverse people i met in court. Cool!

jackrugile says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:40am

I love the look of the UI, well done!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Wonderful graphics and a very nice entry. Quite fun to play as well.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Nice one! It was funny to see all those famous characters. The needle sometimes moves strangely and selecting it at the right moment tend more to luck than to skill. Appart from that, the game have a good mood and it is well executed. Good job ;)

emmes says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Pretty cool, excellent pixel art and cool sound effects.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]