Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Eskort mission

by StitchesMagoo - Jam Entry

This is Eskort Mission, the best part of all our favorite games

In Eskort Mission you are a lonely soldier looking to fill his house with cats. cats can however only be found in the Nazi filled country side. Find and Eskort these cats back to the chopper to fill your house with furry critters. The more you save the more your cat collection grows. Try to catch 'em all.

This is a top down shooter with procedurally generated maps.

controls: arrows to move
left mouse to shoot
right mouse to reload

credits: Luc Wolthers: art, design programming
lately kind of yeah from free music archives for the music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#137Graphics(Jam)4.17
#146Humor(Jam)3.54
#196Overall(Jam)3.68
#251Fun(Jam)3.50
#451Mood(Jam)3.29
#1038Theme(Jam)2.53
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:52pm

A very fun game but it missing a tutorial.

redmassacre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:28pm

hi, GM bro)
it's funny to save kittens during war, but i liked this thing)

redmassacre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:29pm

and you should better make also zip-file for downloading)

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:27am

Very nice. I loved this. Music got a bit much though but rest was awesome :)

timeshapers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:08am

right click to reload doesn't seem to work. but otherwise, really fun game.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:01am

Okay, it's really fun and solid game, awesome graphics and great idea. It needs some tuning to become playable. You have too little lives to play it as action game, but your enemies can shoot out of screen bounds which makes it impossible to play as stealth game. Can't see connection with theme. But 5 out of 5 overall, good job!

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:16am

Nice graphics! Fun game as well :) I had a few glitches with the background tiles having white gaps and the reload sound played 50 times at once, but apart from that I managed to save some cats! WOOO!

iantttianttt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:40am

The Graphic is wonderful!!
but why not puppy~
LOL

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:47am

Thanks guys for the kind words, I am currently unable to address the glitches but in the next week will fix them all up. ?.

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:00am

Graphic :L lovee this.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:06pm

There were a lot of graphical buggs. Other wise good game.

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Nice art work!

It made me remember the old metal slug characters!

But it's too hard to find the cats around the map,
Maybe a radar or a mini-map should resolve it.

scorched says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Funny and cute, but hard and doesn't address the themes IMHO!
Also not always easy to remember where the helicopter was.
And stop doing the installers, just zip the game for LD! ;-)

astrophics says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:25am

Didn't know what to do at first, but then got the hang of it. Good job

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]