Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Running One

by SirSoltex - Compo Entry

My first LD game, Goal get to the other end of the chamber, you have the strange ability to grow and shrink at will ('Q' and 'E') also as you get larger you can jump higher, and it will prove useful when trying to exit, as it seems whoever built this was the size of a mouse.

The is my first 3d game with any 'real' physics and programmed it all from scratch (no unity). The physics can also be a bit derpy in places. You will also need the latest version of java.

If the game freezes it hasn't crashed (most likely) i just means you've died press 'r' to restart (I didn't have time to implement any death screen :/)

Enjoy :)

Changelog:
• fixed links/black screen issues!
• fixed viewport issues

Known bugs:
It seems that if you ride a platform into the roof you get stuck and can't restart :/ (I did say the physics was derpy didn't I?)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#665Mood2.71
#705Innovation2.75
#781Theme3.29
#782Fun2.67
#786Graphics2.46
#823Overall2.79
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

Coomzy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:26pm

I couldn't play it, it just wouldn't run :( (OS: Windows 10)

SirSoltex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:06am

thanks very much, it seems there's a problem with the current natives, should be a fix soon

SovietBear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19am

Can't run, just shows black screen white box (Windows 10)

SirSoltex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01am

fixed the black screen issues should work now

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30am

Game works(running on mac). I was able to play through. i got to the room with the black floor(after the big climb). I jumped way down and I got stuck just at the ledge. I could not grow. So I shrunk until I couldn't anymore. The only thing that threw me off was the initial grey screen. Once I jiggled my mouse I realized what was going on and it was all good.

flukeshot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:30am

Yeah win 10 here too, no luck.

SgtBursk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:32am

Cool use of theme! The grays colors actually work well. There was some issues with clipping though. Couldn't press 'r' when I got stuck, either.

ironleonem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:36am

Decent idea and execution of theme, but a little lacking in originality.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:05pm

+ Nice theme usage.
+ Fun.

- Some bugs.
- Not original.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Interesting usage of the theme. In fact, I have seen the same gameplay in another LD entry. The minimalist aesthetic is a good idea. I would like to hear sounds. I like ++

Geosearchef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Looks quite interesting, sadly I couldn't play it, I just gives me a blank screen with some blinking white. Looks like zfar or znear clipping is somewhat wrong. I'm using Ubuntu 14.04 LTS.

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:14pm

I wanted to play it but I start stucked into a box!! please fix it and whisper me :-)

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:13pm

took a couple tries to get it working Mac SO seems to be the one.

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:25pm

started playing it and liked the game although run into a crash when you jump into ceiling on third room but apart from that i like the game

Well Done!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:21am

I like the idea a lot, perfectly lays on a theme, but I think you could add something else in the game. I know, it's very hard to write such a game from the scratch without using Unity or something else, but in most cases players wouldn't treat your work. Players can only judge the graphix, sounds, the feel of the game, but they wouldn't understand, how long did you write game physics or how much time did you spend checking the collisions.
I think you really should take some engine in order to cut your coding time and to focus on things, which which helps you to control the game experience

scorched says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Funny idea, but the stairs nailed me to the floor :D

cxsquared says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:26am

I like the idea and the levels where pretty fun. Ran into a bug where the screen went gray but it was fun none the less. Good work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]