Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Tree

by razveck - Compo Entry

CTRL to move.
Space to jump.
Avoid the rabbits while collecting water to grow your tree!
Press R to restart the level.

The Tree is a two button game about growing your own happy little tree. Rabbits won't hurt you, but they'll make you spill your water :)

UPDATE: 3 hours after submission - being my first time, I didn't realize there was a separate field for source >_< Submitting Mac and Linux builds as well.

UPDATE: 1 hour after submission - camera was a mess. Added an "end game" UI. Gameplay unchanged.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#606Graphics2.88
#664Theme3.50
#785Mood2.42
#803Innovation2.54
#907Overall2.58
#919Fun2.23

Comments

the31 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59am

Neat idea, I like the simple integration of the the two themes. (And nonviolent combat? :) ) I couldn't quite get the hang of it though: I couldn't tell when the rabbits were going to get on-screen so I couldn't avoid them well enough to grow the tree.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:42am

A little bit frustrating but a very nice concept with both themes :)

Akhera says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:43am

The idea is fine, but the controls are a bit frustrating. Also, I got stuck in the jumping animation several times

MAnimal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:48am

Really hard to play, since now I hate all rabbits. Nice simple graphics.

MinusKelvin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:50am

Looks nice, aside from the frequent graphical glitches (Linux version, at least). Good job integrating both themes, even if it made the movement controls feel a bit weird.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Problem running on OS/x

REIN1 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Nice pixel arts !

Boonearth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:26pm

I loved it simple yet fun :) and relaxing

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Very nice take on the theme

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:21am

Well you've made me hate rabbits haha, taking all your water in one hit is really frustrating.
Some sort of distance bar would be nice, i couldn't tell if the world looped or not (if it didn't it probably should, to avoid excessive backtracking).
The controls aren't easy to get the hang of, having two buttons to move and jumping automatically (or not at all) might have worked better.
Cute concept though, i like the art style. Nice work!

razveck says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:53am

Hey, NightShadow, my original thought was to have just right/left movement. I do now realize that the controls make the game extremely hard to play. I'll be doing extensive modifications to the game and plan on releasing it fully in the near future (January, hopefully). Thank you for the feedback.

MiggyGMan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:13am

The controls are kind of frustrating but the graphics were cute.

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:17am

I liked the visuals, though it's a bit hard to figure out the game.

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:23am

Just want to add that the OSX version would not open.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:58am

I loved the cute little bunnies. And then I hated them

LeeKingCox says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:07pm

11/10 GOTY

themadknights says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Cute game. The controls are a bit difficult at the beginning and the camera shows the rabbits too near. Nevertheless, great job

Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:24am

Nice concept, but the movement is too fast. Makes it difficult to drop into the single block water sources at times.

rujo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:34am

the sprite is really nice but the rest of the graphics could have been improved, sometimes it's all so identical that is difficult to tell if you're moving or not
the gamepay is original but it lacks a real ending/goal

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Archonthewizard : "I loved the cute little bunnies. And then I hated them"

My though exactly.

A bit boring that you can be hit by a rabbit standing near the border of your water hole.

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Sadly the controls felt to much of a limitation to me.
You could think about leaving the jump out allowing the player to go in both directions (water could then be collected by walking over) or maybe just focus on the growing theme. The idea is nice.
Also, something in the background would help to visualize when the player is moving.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:38am

Insta "kill" w/ the rabbits was a little unforgiving. I felt the controls were only enough to satisfy the theme on the lowest level. I felt as though there needed to be a sense of conveying movement because while the character looked nice the background was extremely flat. The odd background art might have rectified this.

astrophics says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:26am

Lacking a bit in gameplay, but nonetheless cool!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]