Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Re:sizer (VR Optional)

by ObsessiveNerd - Jam Entry

Re:sizer is a 3D platformer that allows you to grow and shrink to interact with the environment in different ways. Re:sizer is more of a proof of concept than a fully fledged game.

It does have VR support that you can choose to play with or without.

Controls:
WASD - Move
Mouse/VR Headset - Look around
Space - Jump
Left Mouse Button - Interact
Q - Grow size
E - Shrink size
R - Reset level

I hope you have fun messing around with Re:sizer. It's not much but I'm very proud of it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#53Innovation(Jam)3.96
#100Theme(Jam)4.19
#181Overall(Jam)3.71
#349Fun(Jam)3.37

Comments

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:14am

Basic in its current iteration, but there's some definite promise there. A full-fledged game based off it could be interesting.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:23am

Really interesting concept. The game is cool. With more time I think that you could do something great using this gameplay. However the way with which you grab objects seems to me weird. I did a platform game like you and I used a system which seems to me more efficient. I could share it with you if you want... Nice entry. It can be improved by other features. Well done ++

Domin0e_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:12am

I can only second what MorseAmalgam said.

lurils says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:24am

nice mechanic, and tutorial.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:16am

You should be proud of this. It's very fun. I love solving 3d puzzles. Always feels like you're actually there. Fun game!

Si1ver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:27am

I'm enjoyed this very much! Nice!!!
Please comsider continue your work on this game!

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:51am

Nice puzzle concept. Tried it in my DK2. Scaling up and down is much more noticeable in VR so that's pretty fun :)

Did notice the movement was a bit floaty, and that the movement felt juddery even though my framerate was solid (discrete movement steps? You should interpolate! :O). Anyway, good job!

ObsessiveNerd says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:39am

Thanks very much for all the feedback so far everyone!

@Clavus, yeah that's an excellent idea! The movement definitely needs some work. I've also kinda been thinking that the size should kinda be a tri-state (small, medium, large) instead of the gradual change it is now.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:39am

Getting to the point of a very good game

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:09am

Fun and well done. Good entry :)

Coomzy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Good concept, though would obviously need work for a full project if you do start with the movement, I knew what to do for everything right away, but the movement was too difficult, very frustrating, other than that good!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:51pm

I like the concept a lot but it's quite hard to tell what size you are making some platforming elements a bit difficult (I'm guessing the experience is probably better with a VR headset).

sonelliot says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:20am

I enjoyed playing this game a lot. I got stuck on the last level for a while, until I realized that I need to find just the right size to navigate the yellow platforms and air jet.

I think it would benefit from some basic sound queues for when you grow, shrink and land. Also, I really wish I had a VR headset to play this game with! Great work :)

thesnake91 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:05am

pretty creative i'd say, but needs to be a little less dynamic and more planned out, but overall awesome entry!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:24am

I'd like an inverted mouse option (yeah I'm one of those people xD) and the cursor doesn't seem to lock in the screen in windowed mode (are you using Screen.lockCursor? should work...).

That said, really like the grow/shrink mechanic and the interesting things you've done with it. It's always a big ask to do something 3D during a jam but I think this is a solid start on mechanics. Cool stuff!

bakudas says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:47pm

nice puzzle

randomhuman says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:38am

Lacks polish, but there's clearly the nucleus of a great puzzle game here.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]