Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ultra CopyCat Force

by xanwan - Compo Entry

A Shoot'em up where you steal your enemies' weapons and THROW THEM BACK AT THEIR FACES

Theme : Two buttons

Controls : (Arrow keys) , (Z or W) and (X)
Alternate controls : (Arrow Keys), (Left control), (Left Alt)

Made with :

Unity 5.3
Illustrator
Bfxr
Audacity
Abundant-music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#195Audio3.30
#203Fun3.56
#214Overall3.60
#287Innovation3.46
#418Graphics3.21
#448Humor2.43
#589Mood2.81
#923Theme2.63

Comments

SpringCabal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:32am

It's entertaining, but it gets old fairly quickly. The premise is super cool, but the execution simply needs more. It is kind of entertaining that after you use the enemies bullets you basically throw the powerup back at them which kills them.

It's entertaining, but unfortunately there simply isn't enough gameplay to warrant playing over and over. I played through it twice. Like I said, it's neat, and I like the concept, but there simply isn't enough of it to really grip the player.

NEEDS MOAR GALAGA! (I kid, I kid)

tl;dr
Great concept, needs more gameplay to truly be able to stand on it's own.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Best shooter so far.

3rdChance says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:10pm

I like the implementation and the graphics are interesting. It could need some more action after a while =D

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:34pm

A super fun game with a great concept. It is one of my favorites games now, but it was missing indication of ammo.

Auroz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:36pm

I liked the mechanic, but it got boring very quickly. I think it was too repetitive.

I'm not sure how it fits with the theme either.

recursor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:53pm

I think it needs something else in addition to the power-stealing mechanic to keep the game-play from becoming monotonous (maybe more enemies on the screen?). The power stealing mechanic was fun but just not by itself. I think it is a nice start, and keep working on it.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:07pm

I really enjoyed this. Showing my age but I like galaga clones and this is the first one i've played this year in the compo :). Nice and simple a few varied power ups, not too hard, nice last resort with the boomerang thing and throwing/taking the P out of them :) lol. Decent tune. Thanks!

metalchouchen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:59pm

The weapon mechanics works really well. Congrats!

midgard says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Nice little game

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Cool entry, fun and nice music, keep going ;)

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:31pm

This is a very innovative game mechanic. Superb!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Simple, but really nice to play. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/w1ddlauRQRk

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:30am

Love the art style and audio but it needs more mechanics.

bessdlan says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:25pm

good little game, nice to play ;)

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Pretty cool, and great audio, though the mechanics don't provide a lot of meaningful depth. That said I really enjoyed this entry! Well done.

SamH says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:28pm

I like the polished artwork, and the stealing mechanics are promising. It lacks challenge in its current form, but it can become something nice.

davidB says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:56pm

I like the music and the visual feedback to tell what is the power.

Gyfis says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:39pm

It was hard for me to understand the mechanics at first, and though the concept sounds interesting, it needs a bit more in the execution to be truly enjoyable.

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:49pm

I found this extremely interesting, likely the most entertaining game out of the ~50 I have played this far this Ludum Dare. And this is not only because I am a sucker for vertical shooters.

I liked the simple, very clear and very interesting game mechanics. The limited amount of bullets led to that I constantly had to experiment with different strategies. I liked the status display - very clear and concise, and still very clear what the player was up to with the shapes and colors. The graphics have a clear and nice style, and the music set a fitting mood. The controls were responsive, and worked exactly as they should. The downside might be that the take on the theme wasn't that impressive.

I would very much like to play a more fleshed out post-Ludum Dare version of this. Well done!!

Aaranos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:17pm

The game is fun to play and is rather inventive. I do like that the number of weapons vary and the difficulty gets harder as time goes on.

What I did not like is that the enemies left if I took too long. I am guessing it is because if you have no weapon you can't take them out if they are all already stolen from.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:55am

The first time through I missed the control explanation. I figured it out after a while but it confused me.

Also this game is definitely at least 3 button controls. I'd go as far as to say 6 button controls :P

I was fun though! The graphics were simple but really good! I managed to get to the end a get an 'S' rank. Yess!

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Would love to see this developed further.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]