Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Attack of Tomato

by hiki911 - Jam Entry

Two-button platformer by hikimori911, DeomonRUS and Vurfen
Developed using unreal engine 4 blueprint system

Plot:
Once upon a time angry tomato have decided to become a master of the world. Also he realized that shiny diamonds help him to grow.

Controls:
Keyboard - Z, X
Gamepad - Right Trigger, X(left facial button)
Notice: use Z+X or RT+X for pause

P.S. Linux and Mac OS X builds will hopefully come soon(we need testers for these builds), but until then it's Windows only

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#697Humor(Jam)2.30
#743Fun(Jam)2.88
#800Theme(Jam)3.31
#912Mood(Jam)2.52
#931Overall(Jam)2.80

Comments

MintArcade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Kinda fun. Never realized it is possible to make 2D game in Unreal.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:35pm

pretty fun

Indie L says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Amazing!I liked a lot ;D

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Played it for a bit, but got bored really fast. I think touching up the art just a bit more would make it a bit more enjoyable already. Very well done on the tech side though!

Auroz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Interesting idea, got boring quickly though.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Quite fun! Froze on me a few times, and sometimes even though my tomato was upside down it didn't invert gravity! :( overall a fun little runner.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Tomato gets stuck if you invert gravity too close to the ground in a corner. Also, would be nice to have a visual cue when you get hit--I thought it was one-hit kill and didn't realize there was health involved. Could use a bit more art, esp. animations and sound.

That said, excellent idea for two-button controls in a platformer and the design is pretty nifty. Tutorial level was a nice touch.

pcmaster says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Hehe! I'd switch the controls for arrows or something but definitely playable! Good job.

rujo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:41am

this is very nice, the style is original!

thesnake91 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:12am

pretty nice but weird choice of engine though, unity or game maker are way more compact, but good overall!

the-arrival says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:20am

even if the mechanics are not new, it fits the two button controls.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]