Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Akbar 'em All

by Mat - Jam Entry

​This game doesn't reflect nor is meant to spread any political or religious belief​.

It's a short game made in 48h with Construct 2, based on platformers, Hotline Miami and Counter Strike​. Some of Sound Effect are from CS 1.6.

This is our first particpation in the Ludum Dare. On the brainstorm, we just a little took away the theme. (But the beard grown, look at it, it took a lot of effort)

Hope you won't be shocked​ by the dark humor aspect of this game.​ Just enjoy !

Team Composition :

Khelian - Art & Music​

Mat Rexus - Game Design and Programming

The Soundtrack is available here: https://soundcloud.com/khelian/sets/akbarem-all-ost
and here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1jQU7dqZDhE

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#350Humor(Jam)2.93
#589Audio(Jam)2.78
#893Graphics(Jam)2.55
#903Mood(Jam)2.54
#977Fun(Jam)2.48
#1011Innovation(Jam)2.14
#1037Overall(Jam)2.59
#1095Theme(Jam)2.00

Comments

benjaml says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:29am

bullet have some weird physics, but the game is cool :3

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25am

Lol this is hilarious! I love some good ol' terrorists ;)

Drury says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:34am

Some really wild brainstorm you had brewing there! I don't quite get when I aim upwards and overall it's kinda glitchy, I'd prefer simpler approach with a bit more polish.

Dalkor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:12am

Feel like I'm some sort of watch list now. Like others have said bullet physics can be odd sometimes, I figured it was intentional. Entertaining though!

Mat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:00am

About bullet physics. The game have tree option of shoot. If moving, if standby, if shoot down. Yeay, it has a little problem sometimes if Counter-Terrorist is in collision with the player.

psychonull says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:10am

lol the sounds of CS works sooo good, music is awesome too. the shoot aiming upwards randomly makes it weird and annoying, the counter-terrorist following and falling from the top are hard to kill. cool graphics didn't get the theme and I couldn't find how to place the bomb. awesome job!

ToloaGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:15pm

I lol'ed at the intro music.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Beard level at max! Allah akbar! Terrorists win!
Short but funny game :) (didnt have problems with the bullet physics, basically if you are moving you would shoot upwards, otherwise straight)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Interesting choice of subject matter, felt under polished.

vetch says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:25am

I loved the "Allahu Akbar" at the end ^^. Also, great mood and GUI. Some improvement with shooting mechanics is required though.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:38am

max points for humor, very cool arcade game. ctrl wasn't the best key to shoot as ctrl+arrow switches desktop on mac :) awesome gameplay though

SamH says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Despite the few bugs the game was challenging and rather well balanced. A bit too hard because of the randomly buggy aim, though. Also like someone else above I was not able to place a bomb despite my beard being of hirsute proportions. Is there a special location to do that?

Mat says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:19pm

No, when you have 40 points, you can use the bomb, anywhere.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]