Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Avalanche

by Kvyosh - Jam Entry

You love winter, snow and the mountain? That's good! Because the mountain doesn't like you in this game!

AVALANCHE!!

In this game you control a little snowball who need human to grow and become a real AVALANCHE.

=====CONTROLS=====

Only two fingers or toes are needed for this game, right and left arrow are the only control.

=====GOAL======

The goal is to survive and kill alot of human which will give you some point.

=====INSTALLATION=====

Just extract everything and run the .exe for windows or .x86 for linux

=====TOOLS=====

Engine: Unity3D
Sfx and music: Audacity
Graph: Photoshop

=====PLUS=====

The game will be available in the playstore after his validation.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#107Theme(Jam)4.18
#125Humor(Jam)3.59
#336Audio(Jam)3.33
#594Mood(Jam)3.12
#623Graphics(Jam)3.24
#635Fun(Jam)3.00
#705Overall(Jam)3.12
#1922Coolness33%

Comments

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:40am

Awesome! And on Play Store! Very nice work ;)

kebabskal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:59pm

It's soooo slow? Why not speed it up a whole bunch? Think could actually be pretty fun if it was just faster.

Does the ball eventually get bigger? Didn't ever for me.
If it does, nice play on both themes :)

Didn't get wether or not the red dudes killed you, seemed to happen only sometimes?

Anyway, good try!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:44am

Haha, murdering innocent skiers was quite fun. It could have been a little more difficult, but overall a nice game.

bog13 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:03am

Nice but the game starts very slow. Fun game :)

Auroz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:46am

Fun idea, but the movement was so slow that it got boring quickly.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:49am

Got 85 score, did my snowball stop growing at some point?
Liked how some of the skiers were like cult followers :D "hey whats that great ball riding down the hill? Lets try skiing on it!" *splat*
Maybe nice effect for the snowball could have been that it would get more red when you squish skier (and get whiter when you keep rolling for new snow)

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Pretty great game! i love the music. the snowball could've moved faster. the warnings from incoming trees felt irrelevent if they were onscreen for ten seconds before reaching you.

local minimum says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Played it on windows. Liked it. It was a bit slow, it could have been nice if holding both buttons would have increased the speed a bit (maybe at the cost of increasing in size). Another cool thing would have been if there wasn't splatter from hitting the skiers, but that they got stuck and for a while made the ball a bit bumpy (until new snow had rounded it off again), making it harder to control the path. Also, of course, different types of skiers: some slow like those you had now. Some faster than the ball coming from top of screen. Etcetera. Good game though.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Nice way to kill some time... and skaters.

Eingya says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Simple concept but solid execution, well done!

Brandondyer64 says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:18am

Would like the game, but the controls just killed it.

Gaspard_ says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:47pm

The music made me die of laughter.
The game itself was pretty slow at the start as others mentioned but got better over time.
The fact that skiers don't go through trees was a nice touch, and I liked the rolling ball effect.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]