Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bring Me Food

by cimbaman - Compo Entry

Every king commands his servants, but this one only says one thing "BRING ME FOOD!". Be a good servant and collect food for him, follow his command, and serve his growing hunger.

CONTROLS:
Left and right arrows - Move


Additional controls:
R - game reset
Esc - game exit

Author note:
This is my first game jam, and my first time doing any pixel art (if you can call what I did pixel art). I am very satisfied, and I hope you have fun playing it as much as I did making it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#98Humor3.48
#274Fun3.44
#379Graphics3.29
#468Mood2.97
#480Theme3.74
#509Audio2.58
#559Overall3.14
#723Innovation2.71

Comments

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:47am

The funniest game what i ever played. That very much simple and fun.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Nice entry.

paraxite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Neat game. Would have liked more progress or a way to fail.

Just a nitpick, but the music is off-note... it bugged me slightly.

rzuf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:19pm

I love how the only thing the king does is eating and yet everyone is happy with this kind of ruling.

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:45pm

too bad there is no scoring or anything. Needs more challenge. But pilling up food for that ogre king coul be nice.

Check out Digicross, playable in solo/multi/coop :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Music started to pour out from my ears, but the game itself is good and score system would be great!

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Neat little game. Music leaves something to be desired though. Nice work!

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:22pm

The gameplay is fun, and flows nicely! Good work on the art for your first time, as well. Keep it up! :)

flakoflak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:44am

would like to see a condition for losing, or a reward for winning. well done

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:56am

Nice. Good first game jam entry. I dig it. Good art, simple and fun. Suggestion for the music: have more things going on in it. The same melody over and over again does get a little grating, and other voices and rhythms and chords would help.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:00am

Also, in Game Maker, the source is actually a .GMZ file, not the .GMX. Not a big deal, though. :)

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:59pm

hahah so cute!

Stending says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Haha, your pixel art is really great, especially for a first time!
Cute and funny game, congratulations :)

dollarone says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Nice graphics and the gameplay is simple and intuitive. Would be good to get a score and win/loss condition but all good. The music is some crazy atonal/chinise inspired thing - very interesting! Good work

scorched says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Nice idea, but needs to be more challenging. Graphics are good enough!

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:51am

simple idea, but non-the-less fun.

music gets a bit repetitive, but that's understandable for the time limit.

I liked the effect that moving has on the stack of food (causing them to sway back and forth).

nice job for you first game jam! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]