Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Catch the White Rabbit!

by danieldsj - Compo Entry

I have never programmed anything in javascript before.
I have never used the phaser engine before.
I started on 2015-12-12 at 2200h EST.
I finished on 2015-12-13 at 1100h EST.

Based on Alice in Wonderland.
Drink potion to shrink.
Eat cake to grow.
Avoid the lava.
Catch the white rabbit in record time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#15Theme4.45
#148Innovation3.73
#389Humor2.56
#782Fun2.67
#784Overall2.86
#809Mood2.33
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:38am

Pretty creative way to use both themes. Fun game, nicely done.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:53am

Interesting spin on a platformer. Had to change my mindset to figure out how to overcome the obstacles. Good work!

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:57am

nice use of mechanics

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:58am

nice game

keepee says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:23am

the idea has potential. i wonder if it can be made to feel right with physics.. at the moment you can just kinda mash up and down to stay above lava.

mcmahoniel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:25am

Very clever mechanics!

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:26am

Great use of themes!

I would have made it so that when you grow in size, you don't jump like you do now, instead only when you shrink, due to the shrinkage, you become "higher" than you are and then fall. That way to jump over lava the player has to first grow big and then grow small.

Graphics could use some touching up, and a funky soundtrack would do this very well as well.

Neat entry, good luck!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:31am

Yeah it was cool to figure out how to get over the lava pits! nice job!

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:39am

Nice job! The movement was a bit wonky at times, but all in all it was rather enjoyable. :)

danieldsj says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Thanks for all of the positive and constructive feedback everyone!

keepee: If I had more time, I would've fixed the double jump problem.

esayitch: I agree that given more time, I would've tweaked with the physics a bit more to get a better "shrink up" feel for jumps.

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:15pm

I really had to get used to this kind of gameplay, but it's a great idea

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Yeah that's quite a cool mechanic and a nice twist on the two themes. Would have been nice if there'd been animations and things but I imagine if you've not done javascript before you had enough on your plate :)

psychonull says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:52am

Nice idea, really fun game. Great use of theme. Good job!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:17am

Very cool gameplay. Wish the game was a bit longer and had other obstacles than the lava. Great entry!!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:10am

Very nice. One idea to make it feel better would be to set the anchor point of your character's x axis to be at 0.5, and the y axis to be a 1.0 (thus making the anchor at the bottom). I think when you shrink and grow, you do so from the top left of your character. By setting the anchor point in the bottom middle, it would probably be a lot better feeling.

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Interesting idea for the two button controls. Level probably needs to be built to teach the tricks before penalizing the player for not knowing them. Restarting from the top can get tedious in that regard. Good job.

Larzan says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:40pm

That is a great concept, love the shrinking/growing/jumping mechanic, very creative!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]