Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Behind the Mask

by Raphi - Jam Entry

Hi everyone, I made this game with my bro Pymiro, we took the theme "growing". It is a platformer called Behind The Mask. It is quite hard, so try hard to reach the end!
Controls: Space bar = jump
shift = slide
arrows = move
You can also walljump!
Beware of Nature, it seems alive...
Enjoy :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#492Graphics(Jam)3.50
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#850Humor(Jam)1.64
#889Fun(Jam)2.66
#924Theme(Jam)3.00
#931Overall(Jam)2.80
#946Innovation(Jam)2.37

Comments

fishtrek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:00am

love the pixel art. controls and level design are very unforgivable but i'm sure could be fixed up given some more time. nice work :)

DraKlaW says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Really nice graphisms, hard to play, maybe it would need a bit more balance (... Or I need to practice more on SMB)

plauk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:06am

Your pixel art is quite good, but you've left bilinear sampling on. Use point sampling and it will look a whole lot better.

I couldn't figure out how to slide. Not sure what "Slide with maj" means.

Solifuge says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:15am

** Note for folks who are confused; Maj is Shift, Espace is Space.

Some great pixel art, and solid music choices; they really set the tone. I liked the character design too; that's a pretty neat hat, and I loved the claw they used to grip into wood and crumbling stone.

The platforming was indeed quite hard, but I managed to beat it; if you had more time, some easier levels to get the player familiar with the controls would be good. I liked the growing platforms, and how all the different blocks interacted; very good design there, and some well-crafted puzzles! I may have cheated, since I avoided the first green trigger in order to finish the last level; I couldn't jump up the thorny wall before the floor caught up with me.

For criticism, the controls seemed to not respond some times, especially Jump; many times, I'd hit Jump, but just walk off the edge of a platform, which was frustrating in such a precise game like this.

Thanks very much for putting this together; it was a lot of fun, and a well made platformer!

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:21am

The mood is here but damn it's hard :p could not go so far but really nice music and puzzles! Didn't succeed to slide however!

Nice background on title screen!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:22am

The mood is there, but I cannot say the same about the level design, otherwise good game!

monetai says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:24am

normal game, jumping was not working on every imput

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:30am

Very nice little platformer! The visuals, animations and moves are great, kinda remind us of Wonderboy, as well as the temple atmosphere. Gampleay wise controls are tight, but maybe it's a bit too challenging: a small error and you're dead meat! Good job!

triello says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Beautiful pixel art!

mockthebear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:33pm

I like thert, but the mechanics are a bit strange. I think the controls arent responsive. When your'e running at the second stage, you cant jump right aft ther second plataform. That just broke the game to me. I could jump so i could proceed in time. Btw, what "maj" means?

Rodaja says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:05am

As some have pointed out, your pixel art would look much better without bilinear sampling. Controls aren't very responsive, especially jumping: half the times, you can't jump when you intend to, and you fall down to a quick death.

Keep working on it, good job!

rzuf says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:17am

It lacks some polish, but it can be a start of something truly awesome. :D Your pixel art is top-notch. Most of the time the space doesn't work which is super frustrating. :D

jlouisB says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:16am

As pointed by others : controls, and especially jumps, should be more responsive.
Another issue I had was the soundtrack : it sounds good, but it's clipping every three seconds which makes it hard to enjoy. Maybe reducing the master volume would be enough to prevent that.

Raphi says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Thank you guys for comments, I'm actually working on the jump to make it more responsive :)

richardboegli says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:58am

Great job.

Love the pace of the game, you had to have the timing perfect.

Gave up on Level 2, as I just could not get the timing right.

Had a similar issue where Jump would not respond sometimes when pressing direction key.

Had to remap and use A and D for Left and right (Personal Preference) using AutoHotKey.

MAJ = Shift for slide, you should edit the description.

Music fit in with the style of the game.

kepons says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:25am

The controls seemed a bit unresponsive and the hitboxes and speeds were a bit weird. Otherwise, a nice game.

JoseArias says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:03pm

I liked it but the space sometimes doesnt work

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]