Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bay Col !

by Blake_Lead - Jam Entry

This is my very first game ever ! Buggy and ugly but I'm so proud of it !

You play a box that can change color and grow/shrink. If you want to score, match height and color of the boxes you cross.
In other words : be cool and blend in.

Space / Left mouse : Grow/Shrink
Left Shift / Right mouse : Change color

Made with Visual Studio 2015 (dlls could be missing if you have not VC++ Redistributable for VS 2015) in C++ with GLFW/GLEW, SOIL2 for textures loading, OpenAL for sounds, and Freetype for fonts. Paint.net for visual assets.

EDIT 01/02/2016 : I posted an edited version of my entry and here are the changes:
- fixed a bug where sound does not play
- fixed a bug where blocks overlapped
- Adjusted difficulty

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#674Innovation(Jam)2.91
#743Theme(Jam)3.40
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#809Fun(Jam)2.77
#877Mood(Jam)2.62
#903Graphics(Jam)2.52

Comments

Akhera says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:55am

Doesn't work. MSVCP140.dll is missing

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:01am

Grats on your first game! Nice work. It's really hard, though. :p

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:20am

Thank you @manabreak ! The difficulty depends on the machine, I found out : sometimes the game runs really fast and sometimes it runs slooow. My bad I did not fix the framerate. I'm gonna say it's a feature :D.

@Akhera : I compiled the game with VS2015 dynamically. I will fix this as soon as I'm home. I did not realize it would be an issue, I'm really sorry.

SirJavaGaming says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:49am

MSVCP140.dll missing

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:45am

Looks great! But I couldn't seem to find a replay button and had to restart the game everytime I died... Which was a lot, I have to admit. Overall well done!

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:28pm

@SirJavaGaming : I will try and solve this issue when I'll go back home. I am sorry.
@Cyranh : Thank you for playing :). A retry option would have been useful indeed ! I will definitely think of that for the next ludum dare !

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:57pm

A really nice entry. Nice idea and very pretty. Audio could improve it to no end, and varying the speed and/or spacing could help with the difficulty level.
I can imagine something like this being quite a hit in the mobile space - it's a lot of fun and can easily be played in short bursts.

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:58pm

api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll is missing

daleth90 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59pm

I think there should have a replay button or something like that after "YOU DIE!"

Zenol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:00pm

I installed MSVC 2015 redistribuable, but I now have a blue window with nothing inside :( Can't rate it.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Nice little game, just a bit hard I guess. There is no chance of changing fast enough to get all points

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Thank you @alyphen, @daleth90 and @Obvious Industries for playing my game and for your kind comments. It's really encouraging. I am working on a retry state and on ajusting difficulty.

@FloatingGhost, @Zenol, thanks for trying ! I'm looking for a fix to that issue.

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:29pm

simple and good

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:01am

I can't play windows games, sorry!

BoltKey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:13am

Conceptually very nice idea, but somehow id doesn't feel good. It should get harder / more complex with time. For example, you start off with just heights, then introduce colors etc.

I like the idea that you don't have to match all aspects of the squares, but the more you do, the better.

AM_Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:30am

Nice game, had issues with the colour of my block. I was grey throughout. The joys of OpenGL!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:39am

This is really buggy and it's pretty unbearable :/ I make my block green and I still die or it switches to red randomly. This looks like a fun game otherwise.

KBF123 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:17am

Interesting concept

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:23am

@thiteenthspiral : sorry for that. I could not reproduce your bugs and have no idea where these come from.

Thank you all for your feedback, I'll make good use of all you said for the next ld.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:09am

Well done :D A game for being fun doesn't need to have great graphics :P

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Good Concept here :D Keep improving Thats what we are here for :)

arseneauol says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:31pm

...

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Very fun game. Audio would be nice, but still a great first game.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:11am

I could hear some audio from the game when I clicked around, but nothing rendered beyond a blue square. =\

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:57am

Thank you @Los_Stormtroopers, @DieBackStudios, @arseneauol, @ThreeLivesGames and @kirbytails7 for playing my game :)

@kirbytails7 : I'm sorry you could not test it. You are not the first person who had this issue. I really don't know how to solve it and yet I tried everything I could, I am sorry.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Nice idea, and also good to see a fellow C++ developer! Congrats on this game, you should be proud of it :)

AAGH Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Had trouble understanding when a hit counted as a success or a fail, and failing seemed to be almost random. Nice concept, but it could use more clarification.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Well done on your first game! Especially impressive that you got it working when you hade build your own game engine as well :) I recorded while I played, and the video is being uploaded here:

https://youtu.be/Ed7fjG3Ed5o

Thanks!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:57pm

And the sound effect for getting hit is nice and intuitive :)

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:29pm

@EthanWebster : Thank you for playing my game ! I really appreciate it.

@AAGH Games : I had trouble finding a good, fine tuned score system and it is indeed flawed. I'm working on this prototype in my spare time and score system is one of my priorities ! Thanks for playing the game and I appreciate your feedback.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:41pm

@little-burrito : Watching you play my game was terrifying and exhilarating at the same time! I can not be prouder than I am right now.
And your feedbacks are invaluable ! Thank you for that, they are carefully noted and I hope to bring something better next LD !

piper82 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:54pm

love the art!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:32pm

cool idea but hard as hell!!! well done!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:48am

There seems to be a bug where once you go past the first obstacle you're practically invincible but anyway, I actually liked both gameplay mechanics of growing/shrinking and colour changing. Not bad for your first game I'd say.

Mantlair says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Didnt work for me. Blue screen then closes itself.

dregamr says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:20am

I can't execute it. :_(

Blake_Lead says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:26pm

Thank you all for trying my game and rate/comment it.
I'm sorry some of you could not play it. Could you tell me which graphics card you have (nvidia, ati) ?

IAmSpencer says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:58am

wow, this is really difficult, but I like the idea.

solid gameplay, but like I said, I think it can be a little too hard, of course, that's just my opinion, some people like the 'impossible' type games. Nice work for your first game! :)

Blake_Lead says ...
Jan 14, 2016 @ 1:40pm

Thank you all for testing/rating my game and hope to play your games next LD !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]