Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow a Goldpile

by Skaz - Compo Entry

Dig down and grow yourself a HUGE PILE OF GOLD. Because that's what life is about, aimless WEALTH!

This is a dig game. You are a Dwarf.
Left and Right arrows to move and dig, down arrow to dig down.

But pay attention, you are not alone in the depths. Weird jelly creature lives there, and you might fit their taste...

If stuck, R to restart the level.

Escape to quit.

To stash your precious Gold, exit the levels by reaching the bottom. Between each level, see your fortune growing, raining from the ceiling!

Make it a mountain fellow digger!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#71Graphics4.13
#197Mood3.43
#278Overall3.50
#330Fun3.35
#431Audio2.73
#528Humor2.28
#625Innovation2.91
#746Theme3.35

Comments

realbogart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Clever use of the theme and very moody graphics!

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Fun game! It reminds me a lot from the game Minecraft.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:01pm

This is a tidy entry. Great use of theme, lovely visuals and nice loop in gameplay. Great work

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Epic game, really cool graphics !

ripatti says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Whoa, so much gold to collect! Love the pixel art. It was very fun to jump over jelly monsters. Also maybe it's a bug - the game generated the same dungeon for a few times.

Skaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Thanks everyone!

No ripatti, it's not a bug it's a feature... I started making level wayyyyy to late (like 1 hour before the deadline). There is only tow "real" levels, the first to one being dedicated to teaching you the basics.

Lesson: don't spend more time making the dirt mining effect than you spend making actual LEVELS.

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:57pm

It's pretty nice! The art is what shines the most! Wish it was a bit more challenging though!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:50pm

I got into the gold pile by holding left after dying. Bug or feature? :P

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Really lovely pixel art, the controls work well and feel nice. Great work on the mechanics! :)

Skaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Ahah Silkworm, wasn't it funny to mine all those piles of gold? Yeah ok, BUG. Bug I squashed, 0.1.1 is out, with the room restart function WORKING (and not only trapping you where you already are), and level switch WORKING. Because it was really badly messed up.

coywolf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:43am

Really impressive! The graphics were great, great mood to the game. Cool idea

Kepab says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Sorry for not rating, but my Avira Antivir Personal virus scanner recognized the download file as malware (Gen.Dropper or something), so I didn't dare run it.

Also, "Downloads and links" with the "Web" option had me originally think this was a browser game.

Screenshots and description both look nice!

Skaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:29pm

I think the .exe is fine, some anti virus are a bit jumpy... My girlfriend browser wouldn't even let here DOWNLOAD the file. But if nobody had issues running it, I don't see why there would be a problem.

Oh and thanks, I fixed the web link, put it in the Windows field instead ;)

radmars says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:10am

Nice! At first I thought this was just another procedural game but the level design is actually really clever. Great graphics & animation too. My only complaint is it's a bit on the slow side, and that plus the moving jelly you have to jump on in the second level made me give up after a few tries :P Still, awesome work!

Eingya says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Fun and interesting. Only 2 notes

1 - maybe make it clearer that getting to the bottom of the level is the win condition
2 - I feel like it would work better if it was a bit more fast paced. Digging blocks with one hit rather than two would probably have a worse game feel, but maybe make for smoother gameplay

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 8:22pm

If I could only give one Compo a perfect overall score it'd be this game. Incredibly well done. Great aesthetics and gameplay. I really hope you continue to develop this if it still interests you.

Rogod says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:20pm

Awesome little game, I was coming to the end of my spree of voting and saw this and decided to download it because I wanted to play it, not because I wanted to vote on it.
Shorter than I expected, but a neat little concept that could easily be expanded on (and has already inspired me a bit).
Possibly could have used some polish around the edge and maybe an objective but it has a clear purpose none-the-less. :)

Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:22am

Awesome entry, something about collecting little things like the gold is always satisfying.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]