Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Castle Crew Conundrum (Co-op!)

by ChromeWisp - Jam Entry

This game is a Local Multiplayer Game. Find some friends to play along!

Oh noes! Stone Golems are attacking your castle! How do you stop them?

Call upon your friends to vanquish the stony fiends by using their own bodies against them! The Castle Crew has devised the most ridiculous way possible for defeating the golems:

1) Pick up any dead golems using The Claw.
2) Smash the golems into rocks for a catapult.
3) Filter out any golems that were smashed too much or not smashed enough.
4) Carry the stones to a catapult.
5) Aim the catapult.
6) Wind up the catapult, and...
7) FIRE!

But... how on earth can one person manage all of these tedious tasks? That's why you need to call upon the aid of any friends you have around so that together you can eliminate your foes.

In this local multiplayer game, each of six roles is assigned two buttons. Divide your players wisely among these six tasks!

CONTROLS:

1) Q/W: Q deploys the claw, and W moves the claw out
2) Z/X: Z and X smash the golems to pieces when on a conveyor belt
3) T/Y: T retracts the last conveyor, and Y extends it back. Retract the belt when you want a stone to proceed to the next step!
4) O/P: Use O and P to move rocks from the conveyor belt to the catapult.
5) </>: The < and > keys aim the catapult on the miniscreen.
6) Arrows: Finally, repeatedly tap the Left Arrow key to wind the catapult up, and press the Right Arrow key to fire.

(hey, they never said how many two-button controls we can have...!)

Credits:

* Brendan Phillips - Game Design and "Art"
* Timothy Foster - Game Design and PROgramming (@tfAuroratide)
* DuskRaven - Music and Sound Effects

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#301Innovation(Jam)3.43
#302Humor(Jam)3.05
#492Audio(Jam)3.05
#568Fun(Jam)3.10
#724Overall(Jam)3.10
#730Mood(Jam)2.95
#810Theme(Jam)3.29
#818Graphics(Jam)2.81
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:51am

I liked the idea but I couldn't play with anyone co-op. Good work!

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:13am

Fun game, but too hard to play alone.

NoradZero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:14am

Interesting concept. Didn't played coop through.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Wow! Awesome gameplay. Very fun.

maunovaha says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:47pm

cool concept, but I didn't get to play it with my friends, they all lives kilometers away from me :( Tried my best to multitask though, but my castle were quickly destroyed. darn it. :D

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Cool idea. I like the use of multiple 2 button controls. :) I'll have to try and find a buddy to play with though (like my roomie). A little hard on your own, but with two people I bet it'd be great! Nice work!

Evannex says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:26am

Great idea, but I don't have anyone to play co-op with! ^_^ Much too hard solo.

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:27am

*Played alone
Looks like a good LAN game, nice upbeat music too!

mockthebear says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Foxtacy: Very interesting concept! Congratiulations!

Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:21am

It would be nice to have the buttons for each guy indicated above their heads while in game

Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:16am

Good entry, it was a lot to deal with as a single player!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]