Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Life: The Game

by ohmaigawd - Jam Entry

UPDATE: Jacksepticeye played our game! Check out the video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vi3QsgRprIY

Life goes by so fast!

This is a game about your life. Will you achieve your dreams and goals? Play various minigames and discover more than 15 different endings.


*********************************************************************
CONTROLS:

LMB - Use it for everything
P - skip level (use it if a level is too hard)

*********************************************************************
TEAM:

Design: Maja Vavpotič (@VavpoticMaja)
Development: Tilen Pogačnik (@tilenpogacnik)

*********************************************************************

Best played on Web build.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
Fun(Jam)4.36
Humor(Jam)4.54
#15Overall(Jam)4.27
#22Theme(Jam)4.42
#31Audio(Jam)4.16
#32Mood(Jam)4.23
#91Innovation(Jam)3.83
#110Graphics(Jam)4.24

Comments

themadknights says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:10pm

The game fit the theme perfectly. Some minigames are nice :D

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Great game! Everything worked well! Also, I'm never having grandchildren...

EwChap says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Awesome game. Great Humor. Great look and feel. Why no audio category? I loved the sfx and the music. Great job overall. really fun and somewhat challenging at times.

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:16pm

I'm usually not that fond of games based on clickity, but this one was charming and funny!

** SPOILER?? **
Kinda sad that after taking care of my health I immediately die :(

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:18pm

So so funny!
Excellent work really, I couldn't help but try all the win/fail scenarios. Fabulous! Waiting for a sequel

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30pm

This page should be filled with comments! This maybe my favorite so far. 5/5 on fun and theme. Well done guys

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:44pm

You've done a very nice job with the mood :O . Right in the feels. Audio is so great.

Wicked7000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Very nice game! Was a bit gloomy at the end but still overall i liked the game!

vortex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Babysitting is so hard!
Really fun game with great graphics...
Keep up the good work

kezhaar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Works fine one Mac by the way ! Ultra hard on trackpad but eh… who plays in trackpad anyway ?

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Wonderful experience ! Bravo !

WitchLake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:39pm

SOOO MUCH FUN! The grandkids part was really hard and i expected a mini game rotting in my coffin but it was really great! I'm gonna force every to play that game!!

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:07pm

It's funny, fun, and just plain awesome!
Great game! :D

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Funny game :D

fafastudio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Such a great game !
Actually, it is so neat, and smooth, that i can't find something bad about it !

Keep on guys ! =)

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Maybe the best game I have seen so far at this gamejam. Very nicely put together! so damn funny! :D

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Very polished, fun and humorous game! I loved it, one of the best entries I've played so far.

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:58pm

This is a great game, loved all the mini games :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Awesome work, guys! Had to give a very high rating. Reminded me a lot of dumb ways to die, and that's not a bad thing. Waiting on a sequel ;)

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:02pm

That was GOOD!

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:58pm

I really like it! The game flows quite well and is fun to play! Those eye pimples though... ouch. XD Good work! :D

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:38am

Lovely game. Great artstyle and well worked out minigames! Love it!

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:43am

I usually don't like these kind of games because they lack variety of interactions but it seems like you nailed it. I also like the topic you chose. I would still work on graphics but everything else is cool, keep up the good work!

Si1ver says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:31am

drugs are fun XD

BroCade says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:39pm

This is a must play, i was smiling the whole way!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:26pm

That was probably the best game I've played so far this LD, really good job! Felt so polished and finished - with a great theme behind it! :D

felilix says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:29am

I really enjoyed this game. The graphics/sound/story were smhick! I enjoyed the funny physics in the gameplay, it made it especially hard to get those pesky pills into their respective containers. Great job!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Nice idea, and well made mini games that offers various gameplays.
Nice work with polish, audio,visual and gameplay ; it makes it a solid jam entry !

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:15am

Very cool game. Purposefully lost a bunch of the time so I could see the endings. Well done!

Pusty says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:19am

Really good entry! Haha

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:13am

Not a bad game, but I can't understand all this enthusiasm around this project. The gameplay is so basic. However the aesthetic is fun. Pretty mood. Good ++

sathorn says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:36am

Fantastic game. Very well put together, although the actual gameplay is a bit dull.
RIP me.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:00pm

I enjoyed playing this game, so I finished it two times, just for fun. And downloaded it, just in case. Very well done ! :D

Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:59pm

Fantastic game, really enjoyed playing all the way through.

jackrugile says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:58pm

I loved this the game! The humor score is off the charts for me. I died laughing when I made the coffee wrong and my boss was puking, haha. You guys packed a lot of content into the 72 hours, well done!

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:18pm

​Great fun! Would love to see this expanded into more levels or alternate levels! Maybe choose your levels where you can do different minigames for a different path in life?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]