Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The other side of the portal

by mahjong50 - Compo Entry

The other side of the portal
Theme: Two button controls
Created in 48 hours by mahjong50

This is my first participation to ludum dare and I think I made something interesting in these 48 hours.
Somehow I managed to make an art based game instead of programming based game and to my surprise.
Even though I have got little to no skill to art, I don't think the art looks all that bad.
So I tried to create a game where you can make an impact on the world, while only using two buttons.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
CONTROLS
Move the player by pressing the right arrow key.
Travel through the portal by pressing space.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#569Humor2.17
#666Audio1.97
#749Mood2.53
#844Theme3.11
#850Innovation2.41
#851Graphics2.19
#956Fun1.80
#956Overall2.25

Comments

kabel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Okay, the idea wasn't that bad, I mean we have seen it before many times, but it's still okay, but the execution...well...not interesting ...

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:25pm

"Date un-executable "

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:38pm

I waited a minute or so and couldnt run it - this was on firefox.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:40pm

I waited a minute or so and couldnt run it - this was on firefox.

(Later)
Downloaded it, was able to "play" although there isn't a game. An art game must still be a game - what you have here is a story (a very short one).

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:40pm

I waited a minute or so and couldnt run it - this was on firefox.

(Later)
Downloaded it, was able to "play" although there isn't a game. An art game must still be a game - what you have here is a story (a very short one). You should either expand this into a game or expand it as a story.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:53pm

The download links no longer seem to work.

Echo Team says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:31pm

Would've worked better if the "go further down" button was the actual down key ;)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:44pm

While I feel the game is not very game-y I still congratulate you on getting a finished product out. First LD down, more to go!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:07am

That was pretty spooky!! Loved the mood, wished there was a bit more depth or some sort of ending.

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:09pm

I think I didn't really get it.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Didn't really understand it, but I agree first LD getting a finished game out is quite an achievement! Good job and hope to see another one from you at LD35!

Split82 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:05am

This is more an experience than a game, but I liked it. Keep it up!

Pandaman3D says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:07am

Congrats on the 1st entry. This was my 1st time too! :) But I'm not so sure I understood the game...? I kept holding right and clicking spacebar, and eventually I just stayed in a repeating red room.

Starspell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:08am

I understand the concept here but it doesn't hold up that well. Whilst you obviously spent some time making the graphics a game life this, with so few interactive mechanics, lives or dies on its presentation and unfortunately it isn't enough to pull you into the game by itself.

I think had the graphics been more polished and the game expanded you could have had more of an impact.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:14am

There are no mechanics here, but that's fine; I can tell you're an artist at heart. Good attempt for a first entry-- you knew your limits and went weird, which I admire.

Mantlair says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Well, not that much of a game. And If there was some deep stuff I didn't get them. But art was cute. And well done. Keep up for the next LD's!

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:49pm

This is a very special game. Keep up the good work!
Thanks you for playing and rating mine.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:09am

Not exactly a game I think... maybe an interactive narrative?
Nice job on the art though!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Some sort of choice, even simple, would have turn this little story in a playable game. But, well, at least it works without freezing. And it fits the choosen theme. ;)

Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Very cool. The story kept me going and wanting to know more.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]