Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cashnivor

by BobM - Jam Entry

Try to enlarge your company by absorbing the buildings around it. Earn money no matter the price and try to avoid the consequences of your greed

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#90Graphics(Jam)4.34
#466Overall(Jam)3.37
#471Mood(Jam)3.27
#488Humor(Jam)2.68
#719Innovation(Jam)2.83
#790Theme(Jam)3.32
#791Fun(Jam)2.80

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Really awesome game!, those graphics are awesome!

kanatohodets says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:43pm

holy cow, this is really impressive. I love the old man's house lifting off, and it was delightful to see my mega-casino thing come to life.

wilsk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Looks great. I ended up just clicking virtually every button and killing everybody and there didn't seem to be any consequences and I just kept getting more and more money. Ah, the good life?

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Can't play windows games, which is sad, cause this looks good.

greeboCherry says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Interesting at first but I gave up at day 120. Nice graphics.

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:16pm

great concept, i made it to day 88, dam employees getting fired cost me a lot of money haha was fun :) great art !

Darkflint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Killing, human trafficing, destroying your rivals. Yes, i like that game. But again, sound too loud (on headset). Why does almost every game has too loud sounds?

Lost at day 77 when a fired ex worker wanted more than i had.

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Wow, graphics are really nice!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Very nice artwork! I found it quite entertaining to play the role of the local villain :)
Good job!

Coomzy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Really good idea, it although it got pointless pretty quick, and had to just wait to run out of money.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:58pm

The story is so sad... =(

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Outstanding visuals and sounds ! I really enjoyed trying your game. Congrats.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Nice graphics. But gameplay needs more work.

Taldius says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Nice game, the graphics look awesome! But it seems a little hard because you don't have any hint about the consequences of your actions.
Anyway, good job.

ajopart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Great game. I think a encounter a graphic bug when I build on the old man's house. The image of the next building freezes at a size way to large for the screen.

Shivur says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:53am

Good graphics!

mar3k says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Nice graphics and I really liked the idea, but I would really appreciate more options, mostly those that makes you risk your money or go with safe, but pricey option to make me more think in the game and to make me loose some money, because after some time I got so much money, that I did not really care for what I was clicking. But it is still a great game, thumb up for it!

WizByte_Games says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:07pm

this game is really well done. the issues that I have with it is there is no way to exit after you are done playing unless you alt tab out of the game and close it that way. Also when the popup messages come up telling you your business was burgled and such you can't see how much money you have so that you can decide on your action.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]