Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Shooter

by powerkraut_ - Compo Entry

Shoot with left click, hold right click to change mode. In the square mode, you can't shoot and thus can't move, but you're invincible.

I made this game because I thought that the "Two Button Controls" theme was really interesting, so I wanted to explore different movement types with these constraints. I guess this isn't as polished as it could be, but I learned quite a bit making it.

Thanks for playing and feel free to leave feedback.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#260Fun3.46
#342Innovation3.38
#363Overall3.38
#405Humor2.52
#446Theme3.78
#559Mood2.86

Comments

krashja says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:35am

Woo, nice mechanics, i like it! i love shake camera effects too :) Nice work!

cxsquared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:09am

I really like the movement mechanics. Also it felt nice getting a score of 2much. Nice work.

daleth90 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:12am

I like this game, feeling good when shooting and destroying.
However, You may write an enemy spawner, so the players can keep in the game until they lose, rather than restart it.

gironC says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:10am

Amazing!

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Cool idea, camera shake was nice too!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Simple but cool!

ORECROS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:47am

really enjoy the design. using knockback to get around is one of my favorite mechanics for any game.

alright onto technical stuff

There's a balance between too slippery and too heavy for friction, the player slows down a bit too fast. accelerating from holding left click long enough should let you zoom around (to an extent)

also thanks for annotating your code it makes me happy on the inside

when compiling with game maker you can set it to do a standalone .exe instead of the installer by changing the save as type

Chewie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Interesting way to move by shooting)
Never used second form through (cube) there was no need in it.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25pm

First of all: Please don't use an installer, it just clutters up everything and is not really necessary for little GameMaker games. I speak from experience :)

Apart from that: Really enjoyable arcady shmup with a twist. Liked the recoil as means of transportation quite a lot and the screen-shake gives everything a nice feeling of OOMPH!. You even made an icon! :)

KZdev says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Haha, died with "2much" score. I liked the move around by shooting mechanic, good use of two button controls.

Hackbug says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:43am

Awsome game :) really nice

Starspell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:37am

I like the "2much" score level. That was pretty cute. I thought that the game was going to be disappointing looking at the screenshots but it's implemented much better than I expected! I liked the movement and the mechanics, especially switching modes to avoid damage. I didn't find it very challenging but add a few enemies types over time and more powerups and it would be quite fun to play.

srakowski says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:14am

I really liked the idea of using shooting as a means of thrust in as well as shooting. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]