Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Homewards

by M a r o o v a n - Jam Entry

I tried to create a simple Metroidvania, in which you are playing as a little cosmonaut on a small unknown planet. He is very young, but as he grow up - this little world becomes more and more approachable to him.

So I combined both themes:
1)You only need to use two buttons ("Z" and "B") to play this game
2)I was trying to connect growing process and level-up process and to think a little about, what does it actualy mean to be an adult.

It is very short, It won't take you more than 5-10 minutes.
Hope, that you will be able to play it without any problems


Controls:
Z - to move left
B - to move right
Z + B - to jump and make other actions
Esc - to quit

Link to the gamejolt
http://gamejolt.com/games/homewards/113935

I know, it's dumb that you should instal this small game instead of running singletime executable. But it is the only way to make sure that collision in the game would work on your computer.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#20Mood(Jam)4.34
#110Theme(Jam)4.17
#143Overall(Jam)3.77
#148Audio(Jam)3.71
#205Graphics(Jam)4.03
#555Innovation(Jam)3.09

Comments

Mechamism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Beautiful game. The story was very touching. Loved it!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49pm

You've done a nice work with the mood. Music is beautiful

NuclearCellar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50pm

I liked it. Mainly the aesthetic. Although controls seemed very convoluted to me,i guess theme takes its toll in Ludum Dare :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Great take on the themes. I really liked the mood with the style and color choices, and I found that the controls were even better than having a third button for jump. Only question was about the blinky bars...were they supposed to hurt me? Either way, I liked just bouncing around exploring.

blurryroots says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53pm

This was quite an experience. Very touching. Amazing how you managed to be so clever with the controls and even communicate through the game mechanics. Thank you for this ;)

Blobby101 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Very nice! The graphics look lovely, and I could really see what you were going for with the story. With a bit of proof-reading (I guess English isn't your first language?) and some more level/abilities it could be really great!

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:57pm

I really love the mood ! The sounds/music works very well.
The story is good to follow !
Congrats guys for the game you've done !

pk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:15pm

The obstacles did nothing, I passed right through them without taking damage.

I also randomly took damage, as if I was running out of oxygen, it was as if my hitbox was in a different place from my character.

And when I was looking for the last heart I got stuck in a ledge and couldn't progress.


Great art though and the 2button control scheme was impressively responsive.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Damn, i thought i managed to fix the bag with obstacles.
And when I play it seems okay.
What about damage, lives, which flying above are running out as the time goes. Lives restores at home. But as you grow up, you live bar decreases slower and slower. I wanted to show that when you become infependent, you don't need any help at home.
P.S: I'm very sorry for my bad English. I'm Russian and I wrote those sentences in the last moment. The really need to be fixed.

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53pm

What a great mood and audio! The story was also great! The colored beams did not seem to hurt me however? And there was no Vsync so I had some tearing. Overall a great experience!

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Played this to the end. Strong message and loved the mood. very nice.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:53pm

I uploaded other version on gamejolt. I didn't change nothing, only checked the collision with the lasers. Hope that now it would be working

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Very soothing and poetic atmosphere! I like the somplicity of it, and the story behind it. You also made a great and clever use of the "two button controls" theme!

GogglesKitty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:34am

Great art and a fantastic message I'm sure many people can relate to. Nice job.

wooltech says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Well polished, the graphics are great and it was surprisingly easy to control with the two buttons for jumping.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Wow excellent game. The control are excellent, fluid. I think you did a great job of developing on top of the limitations of the theme. I really liked it.

beetracks says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Nice game. Good graphics, the music fits perfectly. I missed sound effects. And I didn't understood what is with those hearts. I think the game might not be checking collision because the bright obstacles (I imagine they are obstacles) did nothing to my character. There is some text alignment issues here too. In my opinion, I I think it could have the option to press a button to advance the text. But the game is well done. Great mood!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:35pm

It was a great experience to play this game, it's beautiful, with lovely audio and art, and so the story -really moving!-. The controls were a bit confusing, but they're easy to get the catch of! Great entry!!

MoreRPG Team says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Good game, but a becomes frustrating when you have to jump of the walls.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Wow, I call that theme usage CLEVER. Representing a kid as an astronaut is a great idea. Mood and audio are great too!

The only things you need to fix are death conditions: I couldn't die whatever I did.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:33am

If collisions doesn't work, just run the game as ADMINISTRATOR!

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Lovely game, in particular the music, my only criticism would be that the length of time the text is displayed for could be shorter, amazing other than that though!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Loved the mood in this entry, controls were well implemented and I enjoyed the level design and unlocking mechanics. Overall great job!

Tselmek says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:41pm

This game gives a very beautiful experience. The soothing atmosphere is very well-built. Good job on the level design. The blue and yellow bars didn't seem to make any damage on my health and the two button controls felt a little clunky and out of place but it was manageable. But apart from a few little polishes here and there, this game is close to perfect. Good job!

Gordy says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Nice music and story ... Pixel art is good too ;) <3 Love it ;)

Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:43pm

Excellent little piece! Charmingly simple graphics, and peaceful music to tie it together to a central theme.

There were a few bugs and issues I encountered though. First of all, it would be nice if there was a way to skip through the text. It sits on screen for much longer than I need to read it, which can be frustrating. I also encountered the lack of hit detection in my game too, so good luck for eventually pinning that down. The health bar also seems to be attached to your character, rather than the screen, so it floats out of view when your near the edge of the map. Finally, I'm not sure whether this is intentional, but you can skip the section beneath the double jump just by jumping against wall to climb up to it.

None of these issues were a deal breaker for me though, and this is still one of my favourite games I'm encountered so far in this Jam!

VitasaMode says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:57pm

what a darling game. I loved the sense of progression and the message was touching as well despite the broken English at times. Great entry and I found it awesome that you were able to find time to focus on delivering a story.

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:13am

Pro:
+ Awesome concept
+ Very fluid control (even though it gets confusing sometimes)
+ Nice mood, graphics and audio
+ Great take on theme

Excellent work!

g12345 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:10pm

The game basically becomes impossible to finish after you get the wall jump. It's probably possible to get back from there to the save point, but it's too hard for me. Those spinning blades are not fun.

I like metroidvanias a lot, but this one I think it's too hard.

Because I can't vote on the Fun category on this game, this is (probably) the only game where my overall vote is lower than the average vote of the other categories.

yuigoto says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:56am

Nice game! The concept is pretty nice too! :)

Great work on the graphics and the audio. It really helps set up a nice mood.

I got stuck sometimes, though, after getting the higher jump, so I had to restart the game. :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]