Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Shark Wars

by Tom - Compo Entry

SHARK WARS (both themes)
An RTS style game where you upgrade schools of fish to different types in order to feed the enemy shark. If the enemy shark becomes overfed and grows too big to eat anymore, you win! If you shark eats too much you lose!

Left mouse click to activate fish schools, upgrade fish schools, activate the blow fish explosive defense, and basically everything you would expect it to do.

Right mouse click - hold it down and drag to pan the view back and forth between your shark's area and the enemy shark.

Fish Powers
Snapper - 1 Food - regular speed.
Tuna - 4 Food - Same spawn as snapper, slightly slower.
Swordfish - 2 food - Fast, can kill enemy tuna and feed to enemy shark for 7 food. Speed slows after a kill,
Blowfish - 0 Food - after time they can be activated to grow and then explode to destroy enemy fish.
Turtle - 8 food - *Bugged* meant as a slow effect. Only slows one enemy unit and usually targets a snapper for reason I can't figure out. Don't use them :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#269Humor2.84
#426Innovation3.23
#437Graphics3.18
#528Audio2.54
#697Mood2.65
#787Overall2.85
#836Fun2.56
#853Theme3.07

Comments

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:55am

looks really interesting. But I am on mac, any chance for web or mac port? :)

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:07am

Please set up your drop box with separate folder for source code. Also, exe could be run once, not install.
Nice art!

Tom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:11am

Fanttum - I won't be able to port to max or web sorry :( Working on that for my next LD.
Modoc73 - so sorry! I am new this is my first time. I think I fixed it.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Thats a shame :/ not many RTS style games for LD. What did you make it in? I would love to try and make a RTS for a LD some day.

Tom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Made it in Game Maker, if you have game maker I included the project file so you could play it that way. and I can understand why people don't do RTS games for this lol it was not easy. I'm an idiot for choosing RTS for my first LD but I like them and got excited with my idea. Going to try to go clean, crisp and simple next time.

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03pm

that was fun, even tho i diddent rly know what i was doing. good job!

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Clever! I'm not sure what the turtles do. I like the idea of trying to over feed an enemy shark :)

Tom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:30pm

turtles were meant as a slow mechanic. they have an area effect slow that that is bugged and only slows one enemy unit right now. They are also worth the most food. Sadly I ran out of time and they are useless and the mechanic of things being worth different food is left unexplained. Come to think of it I should probably just update my entry with those details lol.

Henez says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:33am

The sound effects are hilarious. The idea has potential but it needs a bit of work. I didn't really understand what I was doing.

Tom says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Yeah I completely agree. I spent way too much time on art and ended up with no tutorial. Thanks for playing though!

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:06am

you can spam swordfish to win

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:59am

Good idea and nice execution,
A tutorial would have been nice but its LD :)

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Nice idea! With a little polish it would be great!

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:01am

Very original, and cool graphics and funny sound! Great game! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]