Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Higher, Higher, AAAAHHHHH I'M ON FIRE!!!

by sharpfrog4 - Compo Entry

**EDIT!! Added Unity project folder! THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE FEEDBACK!!!

If you are having trouble resetting, you need to hold both up and space for a few seconds. I originally had it with no timer, but then during playtesting I found that unintended self-destructs were too common.

Steve is a man who can make himself grow. He's also on fire. Help him find water to keep him from becoming a crispy slice of bacon. Please don't take this too seriously. Go easy on me, this is my first time. :3


FEATURES:
9 Levels!
Broken Physics!
Hand-crafted Animation!
Statistics!
Buzzwords!
Donald Trump!
Beginner's Luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#43Humor3.85
#211Theme4.04
#233Audio3.19
#334Innovation3.39
#352Fun3.32
#503Mood2.93
#528Overall3.18
#724Graphics2.61

Comments

XbooperxdX says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:15am

Muy bien

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47am

hahaha, I liked the sounds when you finished a level. Nice work :)

VascoF says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:59am

This was pretty entertaining. I couldn't reset the game by pressing space and up though, so I had to close the game after falling.

Kortuga says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:15am

I DONT APPRECIATE YOUR SNARKY APPLAUSE, ME. DEVELOPER SIR. I do appreciate this game tho, nice job.

RyanMan56 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17am

I thoroughly enjoyed this! The sarcastic congratulations at the end of a level got me every time :D

I generated 319 just so you know

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:24am

Title's brilliant, levels are well-designed, humor is spot on, and the lore matches perfectly with the mechanics. Main issue is with the controls.
Mashing W doesn't instantly increase my size, there's an inconsistent delay between zooms. And the size increases are never big enough for one increase to cover my needs, so I've ended up mashing W a lot just waiting for the delay to pass so I can get to the size I need to be.

To solve that, either try making bigger jumps in size (plan it out so I can hit 'W' once and be at the next size most puzzles want me to be) or let me mash W to grow quicker.

Enjoyed my time overall.

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:40am

Kkkk, nice

RikkyPikki says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Awesome!
I dont think restarting is working, which was really annoying when you fail a jump and have to go all the way back.

Rogod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Hah, this was quite fun. Very challenging and clearly a light-hearted tone to the thing with the sounds. Shame it got really laggy and jittery for me after level 3 so it was basically unplayable. The restart mechanic could do with being a bit more concrete though - maybe a timer would have helped - also he should self destruct when stuck in a wall/ceiling. :P

togo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:15pm

so glad i randomly generated the number 92.
Interesting concept, and really good on the humor.
although sarcastic congratulations are not my thing :P

uthamon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Except that reseting doesn't work for me, I like it. Fun concept, looking at this guy panicking makes me happy.

CogComp says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:56am

Great idea! Nice work!

LittleThor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Funny mood and nice work on sound! Try to improve your level design with some better rythm next time ^^

Starspell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:28am

I like the idea of this game. There are a couple of problems though, the largest of which is that there is no easy to use restart button (holding up and space didn't seem to work) and there is no auto-restart if you fall of the maps which means you soft lock the game as you can't recover. I liked the animation and the graphics as a simple game though and a appreciate your enthusiasm with the audio.

Not a bad first game.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:49pm

I love the idea and your applauses made me laugh a lot. Don't know if I reached the end, I saw the GOAL but didn't happen anything.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]