Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Red Concert

by tantumgames - Jam Entry

Red Concerte - First Person Shooter about an American Guitarist, who visited Moscow

controls:

Mouse - View
WASD - Walk
LMB - Punch/Shooting
RMB - Throw an object
L.Shift - Run
E - Interact

You can throw objects, shoot, play rock-music and struggle against criminals, KGB and its boss — Mr. Romanov

Objects are randomly dropping out from your enemies. Also, every object could brake, so be accurate.

----Hot fix----
-Fixed Sprite rendering on fans
-Fixed Boss animation bug
-Fixed Enemy drop
-Fixed sprite rotation
-Fixed Menu button
-Fixed music playing bug
-Fixed start Mac Build

Well, hope u like it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#164Humor(Jam)3.42
#224Fun(Jam)3.54
#305Audio(Jam)3.40
#332Graphics(Jam)3.76
#434Mood(Jam)3.31
#487Overall(Jam)3.35
#902Innovation(Jam)2.48

Comments

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:03am

Cool game, I'm not sure how it fits into either of the themes though.
Enemies were easy to beat with fists if you just spun around them very quickly they couldn't touch you.
When you walk towards polls or trees they fly above you.

Nice graphics and music. good gameplay

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21am

Wow ! What a polished game ! The graphics are amazing, very nice and impressive :D

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:01am

Blyat! The guitarist from America wins with Russian mobsters. It's nearly impossible!

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:43am

I like the 2d sprites in a 3d world aesthetic.
It's an impressive game with a lot of options such as picking up weapons etc.

Two issues I have with this game. I can't see the connection to the themes, and it's an exact copy of paint the town red.

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:59am

dman this is awesome!
love the graphic and gameplay
even to this day, doom influence never die

lectric.monk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:30am

Can't open the game on Mac without changing permissions in the terminal. When running the game like that, it glitches after the intro. Please fix, would like to try it!

Aerohand says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:32am

graphic and audio are awesome, but it seems very irrelevent from the theme.
after i die to the "boss" (the half naked man) the game crashed....

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:37am

Great gameplay but seems not to relate to theme.
Graphics and audio also great!
But BGM is too loud for me.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:36am

Nice ! Theme is completely different, but good job. The very slow bullets are quite boring, but the environment is crazy. Nice.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:37am

Hilarious idea. Really nicely polished, too!

Song at the final boss was a bit loud, but otherwise, great job.

sim9 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:59am

A bit tough comrade, but fun :)

gv1351 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:33am

Very nice art

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Hahaha, nice one guys. Congrats to the team!

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Cool very old school shooter

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:48pm

It is a good catch of some old school shooter!

MrYoglu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Только русские могли сделать сей шедевр :D

parias001 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Impressive game!
Brings back good memories!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Haha this was fun, liked the random weapons to use and the general chaos of the game. Not the most original idea or fitting the theme but whatever, was fun to play still.

angela says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:04pm

AWESOME! I love the way to the 2d graphics always face you, and the music was great! especially the part at the end with the tetris theme in D minor metal style.
Really polished look and feel. Great humor.
This one is my favorite so far.

Muel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Liked it. It's quite a challenge.
I died on the boss at the end, so in my second play I tried to save all the bullets I can for him.

You didn't gave a name to him, so I named him Demonitri. xD
He's sure tough. Can't beat him with melee weapons.

I also noticed that the game have nothing to do with either theme, but then I saw you opted out the "Theme" voting. Oh, well...

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:44am

Pretty nice game! Loved the music and the song transition. The boss is very hard though. I wanted to see what happens next but I don't think I can play again.

KZdev says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:17am

This is awesome, I was actually disappointed that it was over when I finished, I wanted to keep playing! The level of detail in the graphics is beyond any other entry I've seen so far.

Tuism says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:15am

This has what to do with the theme?

A lot of work went into this, which has a fairly cool amount of content. But the game itself is pretty 1994... Duke Nukem... Which can be understood as retro, but in this case is very, very slow.

The weapon system is cool, but feels unpolished. It's really hard to pick up an object (by E or by walking over pickups), so hitboxes could have been extended. Why couldn't I pick up trashcans or flower vases, etc? The game could have been balanced around that :)

Wasn't ever actually sure what the boss was doing. He went through the fence without breaking it, which was odd.

Wished the game was faster. The enemies were kinda dumb especially because they weren't zombies, but had zombie behaviour.

Good attempt :) Needs more design though, I think.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:27am

Great polish guy, liked almost everything about this game, I would only change the speed of the main character, it felt a bit too slow, otherwise, awesome job

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Loved the art! The premise was amusing and the guitar smashing was great fun!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Congrats comrade, really good entry. And kalinka-malinka at the end make my evening, thank a lot.
PS: From Siberia with love.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:25pm

to CAT_IN_THE_DARK_WOOD: spasibo, mi sami ochen' lubum etot epizod s kalinkoy-malinkoy)

redmassacre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:51pm

hahahaha, very well characters and stylization)
5 from 5 kremlyn stars

Peekotus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Cool game but I dont see how it fits the theme.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:22am

to Peekotus:
We do not want to be evaluated in the "theme" category, so we have removed it from the list of nominations.

shrapx says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:26am

beautiful graphics, i liked the work on the map, though it was quite short and if you blink you will miss the reference to the theme. i found myself throwing the gun and everything else a lot to dispatch of the enemy. it reminded me of like duke nukem as much as minecraft. well done group!

bradur says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Great game! Awesomely styled 3d fps, old school way.

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Nice graphics. Also the interactions with items is amazing. could add some feedback like sound effect when hit the enemy

Garris says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:38am

This game had some big ups and some small downs. I love the ridiculousness of it all, and the weapon variety and sound effects were great! However, the controls felt a little bit floaty, and the hitboxes were hard to figure out in place. Still though, it was incredibly satisfying beating faces in with a guitar.

Dejvo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:18am

well that was sometning...

Ludum34 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Much better than old Blood game! Cool-cool-cool!

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Pretty cool. it's a shame it doesnt incorperate any of the themes though.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Great job komred generals, gha gha

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:25pm

It's a cool game but the fightingsystem is too simple. There are not many options to use when you fight so it doesn't require much skills in the fighting part. The idea was great. Reminds me of GTA.

Loneshark says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:29am

This game has potential. I'd be interested in seeing it advanced further with more of your ideas and plot implemented. Good work!

Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:00am

Very nice! You should finish it and put it on Steam, there's enough content to make the Greenlight page now.

jstan says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:00am

Love the gameplay

crucknuk says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Nice entry. I can't see a connection to the theme, which is sad, but I really like the aestetic and the mood of the game!

Warboys says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Very polished with a great style. There's a lot of problems with the general game feel, as the feeling of shooting, getting hit, and movement/picking up stuff, is quite sluggish. The story felt a bit weird too, not sure what was going on... you're some rock n roll spy? :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]