Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Jump! Shoot! Dive!

by Wandermayer - Jam Entry

Jump! into the air! Shoot! your opponent! Dive! out of the way from bullets!

Two button multiplayer game.

Square off against your opponent in the Wild West, head to head local multiplayer, two buttons each

Test your gunslinging skills: you can only shoot while in the air and you get one shot before you touch the ground.

Prove to your friends you are the highest flying gun in the west!

Check it out at http://wandermayer.itch.io/jump-shoot-dive

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#369Audio(Jam)3.29
#486Humor(Jam)2.69
#551Innovation(Jam)3.10
#712Theme(Jam)3.45
#738Mood(Jam)2.94
#757Overall(Jam)3.05
#818Graphics(Jam)2.81
#879Fun(Jam)2.67
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:05am

Don't get the game

SgtBursk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35am

Everything worked together to complement the theme. Really dug the music, font, and background. Dust particles were neat as well.

ANTZtakeover says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07pm

@CalmKai Any particular reason why?

lectric.monk says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:43am

OS/X link has expired.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:00am

ya link has expired

sirono says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:14am

Windows link has also expired

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:39am

Really fun to play! I love the cinematic intro.

sirono says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Good and simple two player game. But you should make a bigger text of how to play

radmars says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 8:17am

Super elegant! It's got some great strategy buried inside such a seemingly simple concept.

One thing I'd love to see is some sort of feedback to help me remember if my next "jump" is my double-jump or fast-fall.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 9:48am

I really liked the audio and visual design!

mr. a says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:00am

I enjoy the aesthetic, the absurdity, and the dive-kick-ness of the game design, but the gameplay/execution is a little too spare for my taste. I think I'd like less-floaty jump physics/animation (perhaps this could vary between characters?), or more precision in control (e.g. hold to jump higher and release jump to start rapidly decelerating, or allow ~10+ jumps as long as you have upward velocity, and dash down only if you're falling). Likewise, more visual feedback about your current state (e.g. whether you can fire, whether you will dive or jump) might improve initial playability & look nice to boot.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]