Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Core Guardian

by Nanocryk - Compo Entry

Core Guardian is an abstract shooter where you must defend a core and yourself from waves of enemies.

Use inertia and rebounds to stay alive and defend your objective.

Try to get as far as you can !

The game has been tested on multiples Windows computers.
Good chance to work on Linux.
Don't know from OS X, I don't have one but it should work.

EDIT : So after seeing some OpenGL problems with some computers, I changed some properties in the window creation code. I also fixed some broken features such as bullets going through the core or the player damage cooldown not working.
Apparently it's okay to update the game for crash and bug fixes, there are no new features so I hope there will be no problem ...

EDIT2 : It seems my shader loading crash fix is not working so ... I don't know how to make it work ... I'm very sorry for those who won't be able to play it :(

For Windows : You can create a start.bat file with the following content :
----
java -jar CoreGuardian.jar
----

EDIT3 : Ok ... so it only works on Windows ... I'll try to fix this in future versions of the game ...

=== HUD ===
Top : Core and player shields and lifes
Bottom : Wave counter

=== Controls ===
--- MAIN ---
Mouse Left : Move
Mouse Right : Shoot

--- OPTIONS ---
Escape : Quit
P : Pause
F12 : Restart the game if you're stuck someway

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#107Audio3.61
#257Fun3.47
#278Overall3.50
#290Mood3.26
#401Graphics3.24
#512Innovation3.12
#522Humor2.29
#617Theme3.56

Comments

Zifiv says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:46am

Like I said during your stream, it's a good game. You make a real great job !
I will test it with my OSX, and I make u a feedback about.

jmintb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:36pm

I couldnt get it to work.

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:38pm

great job with this. looks nice and polished

realbogart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Really nice game!

Lancey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Great game overall, feels like a classic arcade shooter! I really liked how you managed to do so much with a minimal art style.

acotis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Debian 8 user using Java 8. Got this error when I ran the extracted jar file:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: /home/evan/Downloads/core/libs/native/liblwjgl32.so: libXrandr.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Nanocryk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:06pm

So it's not working on Linux ... damn ...

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Wow, that was pretty slick! Nice and polished, with an interesting mechanic. Controls took some getting used to, which I thought ultimately made it better, as it offered more of a challenge. Well done!

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Nice concept! Nice gameplay,nice art style, yes, that's a polished game :)

Nanocryk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Thanks to all of you ! :D It's my first LD and I'm so happy you like it :3

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:42pm

It is a good game. It would be better if it wasn't restricted by the two buttons. Using the mouse for both movement and shooting is somewhat frustrating.

Pepejson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Nice game, looks very good and sounds match game style, however it was hard to me to steer and shoot with the mause

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:56pm

The game is a little bit hard, but very smooth gameplay and visual effects, also I really liked the sound effects. Nice entry!

zguerrero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Nice little game, the graphics and sound are good, and fit really well with the overall game, good job!

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16pm

i really liked the audio gave it a very early 90's space game vibe

r8berto says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Rebound shots are the best :D I found this game mechanics really inspiring, thank you!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:09am

Nice one. Audio is cool.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:10am

Nice one. Audio is cool. Cool take on the theme.

Lia-Sae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:01am

Getting a vertex shader compile error on startup (reserved keyword: in). Windows 8, AMD 290x.

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:36am

Simple, but solid, fun and engaging. I really liked this entry and I hope you will keep working on it a bit. It was difficult, but just the right amount. The presentation could be even better, but as it stands right now, I found it appealing.

Cool stuff. Welcome to LD!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:30am

Would be kinda cool with some environment obstacles as the circle gets bigger.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:29pm

The aim is about 5 degrees to the right, but that's probably just a WINE issue which is common with Unity games. But the game is solid and simple.

Nanocryk says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:42am

@batmanasb This game was not made with Unity, but thanks for reporting this issue :)

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:22am

Couldn't play it.

"compilation error for shader [res/screen.vs]. Reason: Vertex shader failed to compile with the following errors:
ERROR: 0:3: error(#133) Reserved word: in
ERROR: error(#273) 1 compilation errors. No code generated"

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]