Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Gaia

by Keelan - Jam Entry

Gaia is a game about collecting things, and dodging others. You play as a young planet trying to become life supporting. Growing from a small asteroid into a planet.

Controls:
Left mouse button - Control Radial Movement
Right Mouse Button - Control Orbital Movement.
Position mouse where you want to go.

This is my first Ludum Dare. Incredibly happy to have participated and actually finished something.

-------- EDIT ---------
This wasn't properly indicated in the game, but once you gain 3500 mass you have a next stage, collecting water.

Stage 1 Goal: Get to 3500 Mass
Stage 2 Goal: Get to 100% water needed
Stage 3 Goal: Get home and let life begin.

Apologies for not having this in-game :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#38Theme(Jam)4.32
#150Mood(Jam)3.75
#293Humor(Jam)3.06
#295Fun(Jam)3.44
#325Overall(Jam)3.52
#346Audio(Jam)3.32
#505Graphics(Jam)3.48
#532Innovation(Jam)3.12
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:04am

I love it. You've taken an original spin on the theme and the gameplay is very fun to play around with.

gene-z says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:07am

Simple and fun, congratulations

bodsey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:23am

Very nice, congrats. I think maybe it could be more comfortable to know with more clarity what asteroids can be eaten. Also I took me 5min to actually get one asteroid, but maybe I'm just bad at this

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:25am

The mood you've set it really nice. It is really hard to move though.. :(

redmassacre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:30am

Nice music, but a little repetetive.
Planens and Sun are safe for visiting)

filthsu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:32am

Nice and relaxing game! It's not always easy to estimate the mass of those asteroids. But overall, good job!

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:34am

Nice game ! :D
Really close to both theme and fun to play !

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:47am

Love it!! I played for too long x_x Once you get used to the controls it's really fun. I will be recommending this game to my friends.

Please add a mute button next time :D Because I want to play this game for a long time but maybe put my own music on in the back. :)

kmakai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Great job combining the themes, and I really like the music. If you were to change anything, maybe have hitting a larger asteroid just take away most of your mass and knock you around, or something like that? I liked the face that follows the mouse pointer, that was a nice touch too.

Congrats!

Keelan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Thank you all so much :) I definitely agree with all points of criticism (thankfully all constructive). I would like to finish it up and will definitely use all this input.

as a question, did anyone get passed the first part of the game? I think I should have signified that there is a next step after you gain mass.

2011petia says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:37pm

SPACE !! i liked

parias001 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:44pm

It was very fun! A little complicated to adjust to the controls but it was just a matter of practice. Great job!

linseyray says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Simple but charming! Nice creative spin on the theme and lovely art-style. Good job!

fxtagn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Fun, good mood, music and fit to the theme!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Eating asteroids was raher tedious (and dizzying) experience. I always died on the water gathering part since I didnt know how big water rocks I could gather o.o
Nice game overall :)

lurils says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:06am

This was fun, the face moving was a nice touch heh

EwChap says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:01am

Nice game. I love the planets and sun with their faces. Enjoyed floating around growing. Control was a bit tough but it was fun to fly around.

gelisam says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Loved it! I liked:

- the risk-reward of trying to eat a piece which is about the same size as me, not knowing if I'll double my size or crash (thankfully it was usually the former)
- the fact that avoiding the obstacles automatically became harder as I gained mass
- how you managed to create a second game mode which felt quite different just by disabling whether we gained or lost mass
- the fact that the different planets had different personalities (cheer up, Mars!)
- the science! I never imagined that accretion would be this much fun.
- the ending! I didn't realize what I would become until after the water phase.

The music was quite repetitive and not very space-like though.

Mar 28, 2016 @ 3:07am

Nice, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/MR4ln4T3mFk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]