Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rotundum

by paraxite - Compo Entry

A simple dodging game, with simple graphics and increasing difficulty.

Controls:
Tap 'E' to steer. Hold 'Space' to attack and slow down. Double-tap 'E' to dash.
You don't take damage while dashing.

(Edit: Fixed some typos and added extra explanation. The slow mechanic was already in the game, but I didn't explain it in the tutorial)


Created using Love2D : https://love2d.org/
Music created using cgMusic : http://codeminion.com/blogs/maciek/2008/05/cgmusic-computers-create-music/
Sound effects created using sfxr: http://www.drpetter.se/project_sfxr.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#278Audio3.09
#346Theme3.89
#421Overall3.31
#432Graphics3.19
#434Fun3.22
#444Mood3.00
#456Innovation3.19
#601Humor2.08

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:04am

I love it! Movement is interesting, music is good, graphics are pleasant, it's good all round.

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:11am

A nice take on the theme, I like how you could control the movement using just a single button.

Remicy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:25am

Very interesting! The control is great, I love it!

cimbaman says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:40am

Very nice games. Controls are bit hard for me, but they work. It is fun.

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Nice game, good concept

uthamon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Congrats on designing controls. Although movement is controlled only with one key, you managed to achieve this flow of fast-paced gameplay. I'm really impressed.

Transmit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Really enjoyed it, the control took a bit of getting used to, but liked it once I got going!

Pete_H says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Nice! controls / movement very interesting!

gironC says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Great controlls! nice game!

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:10pm

It is hard to get the hang of, but the one button movement controls are very interesting. All around an awesome game.

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Wow that movement control while simple really changes things up! You are always traveling in an arc so intercepts become challenging. The effect for the dash is very cool as well and fits with the aesthetic you've gone for. The music reminds me of the early 1990s DOS games and is very fitting.

Tijn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:03pm

A very nice game. It took a little while to get the hang of it, but mastery is a great feeling, so that's ok :) Good music and smooth graphics makes the whole experience very pleasant.

I got a highscore of 180 seconds, not too shabby I think?

paraxite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Things get interesting once you reach 250 to 300 seconds. >:)

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Top marks for Fun and Audio! superb effort.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Nice look and feel. Controls took some getting used to, but it kept me playing. Nice job

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:26am

Interesting concept with a good increase in difficulty. The controls did feel difficult to adjust to, though I recognise there's not much you can do though with full 2D steering and only two buttons.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:34am

Nice job! Clean use of controls, but it would have been nice if it had been eased in more. Nice polish!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:37am

I like the minimal look. And the game really gets going once you learn the dash command. Then your space-roomba starts zippin' and dealing out the hurt. Neato!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:53am

Very good use of two-buttons! the double-tap mechanic is such a simple yet ingenious thing. I enjoy that line-art too, can't go wrong with neon!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Once I got used to the movement this game is quite fun. Also I really like the symbols used the enemies. They do a good job of explaining what the enemies do, but are stylized nicely to look interesting. The only criticism I had was that it was very difficult to dodge enemy fire when attacking as your range is very small and maneuvering is slow.

My best time just under 2 minutes.

misteak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:00pm

I'm a complete disaster at steering, but I had fun hitting those enemies :)

Karai17 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Interesting concept! I liked it.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:01am

Great job! the game feels very complete and polished for a compo entry. Although minimalistic the graphics are nice and coherent.

Great job!

Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Challenging, smooth game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/i8PM6O3S2Ao

Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:23pm

Nice entry. A bit of a learning curve but was finally able to get to 83 seconds. I don't have the patience to come anywhere close to 545. I think the "attack" needed to feel more like an attack than a shield. Overall, was fun. Great job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]